Preppy Fridge Makeover! (Easiest DIY of your life!)

13 Jan

I was wandering through TJ Maxx after lunch today when I stumbled across some adorable chevron drawer liner.  Two rolls were only $5.99, so I scooped them up and hurried home.

I had seen fridge makeover “kits” online where you could buy pre-cut liners, but those were like $30.  So, I figured I would measure out my own!

This is a pretty self explanatory DIY.  I just removed each shelf/drawer, measured the paper, and carefully applied it.  What might consume a lot of your time is cleaning out your fridge! (Bye bye all you sad expired foods!)

When I got down to the drawers, I just did the paper on the front part.  I like having Bible verses around as happy reminders, so I wrote out two of my favorites so I would be able to see them every day!

I think this turned out so cute.  It took me maybe an hour, but that was because I was also cleaning as I went along.

photo

I still have a ton of the paper left, so I’m trying to figure out what else I want to cover!  So many possibilities!

PS:  If you’re looking for contact paper of your own, Amazon and Etsy has a bunch!

I really like this gray and white chevron option here.  They also have the exact color I used here!  And they’re not expensive at all–less than $15 for a few rolls!

Edited to Add:

A big, happy hello to all the new readers from Pinterest!  So lovely to have you!  In retrospect, I realize that there might not be the most details on how exactly to do this, so I thought I’d add a few tips:

1.  Using a ruler to measure out how big to cut your sheets of contact paper works, but I’m a little more free spirited than that.  (I’m basically the hippie of DIY.)  I just laid the paper on top of each section and eyeballed it.  It’s easy enough to trim down if you cut too big.

2.  The contact paper peels off really easily if you make a mistake or decide you hate it.  I had to take it off and re-position a few times!

3.  It wipes clean pretty well, but since I’ve done it, I had some juice (at least I hope it’s juice and not like blood, but why would there be blood in my fridge?!  Unless I’m a secret vampire or something…) leak onto the paper, and it’s a bit stained.  I have a bunch of left over paper though, and what’s great is that I can just peel off the stained part and do refresh the shelf with a brand new piece.

4.  I chose Bible verses for the door since Jesus is basically my favorite, but you can choose anything–from labeling what’s inside the drawer to family pictures.  I bet little dry erase boards would even be a great idea!

xoxo

 Tierney

53 Responses to “Preppy Fridge Makeover! (Easiest DIY of your life!)”

  1. Kate January 18, 2013 at 5:31 pm #

    What a fun and easy DIY! I love the paper you chose. Perfect for spring!

  2. amber coats August 15, 2013 at 6:53 pm #

    What kind of liner is it? How does it stick?

  3. Jennifer August 30, 2013 at 5:52 am #

    I think this is adorable and can’t wait to do it to mine… How did you get the drawers to stick? Did you write on the sticky side? Is that even possible?

  4. Shannon September 7, 2013 at 11:31 pm #

    Love the look of this and how easy it is! Also love that you wrote out Bible verses on the drawers – what a great idea!

  5. Dixie Lee November 17, 2013 at 12:17 pm #

    The dollar store has contact paper – dollar a roll! at that price you can recover 4x/year.

  6. Kelly S. January 23, 2014 at 4:16 pm #

    Here’s a tip! You can out press and seal plastic wrap on top of this and then when it gets dirty just peal it off and add another piece. 🙂 Easier than having to clean it and mess up your pretty contact paper each time. 🙂

    • Shannon March 6, 2015 at 2:39 pm #

      I have actually used press and seal on some shelves in the garage. It works great!

  7. Katie Adams March 2, 2014 at 10:34 am #

    What a great way to keep your fridge clean! Thanks for the tip.

  8. Kayleigh March 25, 2014 at 11:35 am #

    What about sticking the paper underneath the glass so you get no spilt juice etc on it

    • Desiree October 13, 2015 at 7:09 pm #

      With most contact paper the sticky side is not on the design side, so unfortunately doing that would give you white shelves, as the design would be facing down.

      • Debra Metz November 18, 2015 at 2:12 am #

        That’s a GREAT
        idea!!! And you could use double stick tape to adhere it to the underside of the shelves..!

  9. Aimee Hackworth May 10, 2014 at 1:47 am #

    In order to do a normal fridge how much should i order 1 or 2 rolls ? I love this idea

  10. katelin June 17, 2014 at 12:00 pm #

    Are the door holders blue also? If so how did you paint them
    .

  11. 365autumn February 12, 2015 at 8:05 pm #

    You could also use simply pretty paper and apply to the under part of the glass so that the paper doesn’t get dirty if there is a spill. 🙂

  12. mamalovesbeingamimi February 18, 2015 at 1:39 am #

    Love this! So super cute and cheap is right up my alley😇Thank you for the idea and I am in love with chevron!!

  13. Brandyn March 30, 2015 at 11:40 pm #

    “…Jesus is basically my favorite…” HaHa – LOVE that! ☺️ THX for sharing your idea, I’ve never considered this before but now I will be doing it!

    • Brandyn March 30, 2015 at 11:41 pm #

      PS. Jesus is our fave too!

      • patricia mottler April 22, 2015 at 5:57 pm #

        What a fantastic idea!!omg! I’m def doing this..cleaning out he fridge and especially the shelves and drawers is something I cannot stand doing..its only me and my 2 teenage boys and do u think either of them will do it? NOPE! Of course not..so your idea with the contact paper is a BIG help! Thank u for sharing this with us..God bless u 🙂 ♥

  14. DIY Just Cuz Team May 25, 2015 at 8:38 pm #

    So simple & so cute!

  15. Megan Osak July 12, 2015 at 1:32 pm #

    I bought the chevron gray n white realized it’s non adhesive. Is this the same kind you bought? Same exact style just in gray. Bought at bed bath beyond?

  16. Deanna Dufresne November 16, 2015 at 10:56 pm #

    I would like to see just what you have on hand to sell for colors, etc. I use contact for wall paper. Some of the designs look very nice, but I got to find them first !!!!

  17. Angie Young December 20, 2015 at 2:23 pm #

    I love this idea. What a great way to keep your fridge not only clean, but pretty too. I love the paper you chose. Tiffany blue!

  18. Fatma April 30, 2016 at 11:21 am #

    Great Ideas
    Thanks for sharing

  19. howfitulous October 9, 2016 at 10:54 am #

    I will be trying this! Thanks for the idea. Your fridge looks great 🙂

  20. Leigh October 31, 2016 at 8:06 am #

    Hello, I love your idea of lining refridgerator shelves with contact paper. Very clever idea. My question to you is – is there a sticky residue left on the shelves when you pull the contact paper up after some time has passed and if so what do you suggest I use to get it cleaned up? Thank you!

  21. Richard April 18, 2017 at 10:17 pm #

    I was wondering if you ever considered changing the structure of your site? Its very well written; I love what youve got to say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having 1 or 2 images. Maybe you could space it out better?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fridge Makeover; Easy DIY of Your LifeThe Adored Home | The Adored Home - August 28, 2013

    […] The Preppy Leopard did a cute makeover to the shelves and doors of her fridge, which I am in love with today. Her blog is all about her style which I love; she is adorable! She shows us it is easy to make a great impact with little time, money, and effort. Jump right on over and check out how she did this easy project here! […]

  2. Preppy Fridge Makeover! - Tutorial | Decor Home Ideas - December 24, 2013

    […] More Details Here […]

  3. 29 WAYS TO DECORATE YOUR RENTAL WITH CONTACT PAPER | Grillo Designs - May 1, 2016

    […] 23. Line your fridge shelves via The Preppy Leopard […]

  4. Fridge Makeover! - just ordinary bliss - July 11, 2016

    […] exists. I searched “Fridge Makeover” and “Fridge liners”, and I came across this idea! In the blog post I read, this lady used pretty patterned contact paper to line the shelves and […]

  5. 15 Contact Paper DIYs That'll Save You So Much Money - Breaking News Now - February 5, 2017

    […] Contact paper in the fridge? Why did I never think of […]

  6. 15 Contact Paper DIYs That’ll Save You So Much Money – Murky - February 5, 2017

    […] Contact paper in the fridge? Why did I never think of […]

  7. She Put Contact Paper Down On Her Floor And I Can't Believe The Beautiful Results | Buzz Feed Viral - February 5, 2017

    […] Contact paper in the fridge? Why did I never think of […]

  8. 15 Contact Paper DIYs That'll Save You So Much Money - Ivona Funny - February 5, 2017

    […] Contact paper in the fridge? Why did I never think of […]

  9. She Put Contact Paper Down On Her Floor And I Can't Believe The Beautiful Results – CreepyBuzz - February 5, 2017

    […] Contact paper in the fridge? Why did I never think of […]

  10. She Put Contact Paper Down On Her Floor And I Can't Believe The Beautiful Results - Find trending news, viral photos and videos on Bittabi - February 5, 2017

    […] Contact paper in the fridge? Why did I never think of […]

  11. She Put Contact Paper Down On Her Floor And I Can't Believe The Beautiful Results – Looperbuzz - February 5, 2017

    […] Contact paper in the fridge? Why did I never think of […]

  12. She Put Contact Paper Down On Her Floor And I Can’t Believe The Beautiful Results | 마이핫뉴스|MYHOTNEWS - February 5, 2017

    […] Contact paper in the fridge? Why did I never think of […]

  13. She Put Contact Paper Down On Her Floor And I Can't Believe The Beautiful Results - Craisingbuzz - Latest Viral Stories - February 5, 2017

    […] Contact paper in the fridge? Why did I never think of […]

  14. She Put Contact Paper Down On Her Floor And I Can't Believe The Beautiful Results | UpGags - February 5, 2017

    […] Contact paper in the fridge? Why did I never think of […]

  15. 15 Contact Paper DIYs That'll Save You So Much Money - somosnice - February 6, 2017

    […] Contact paper in the fridge? Why did I never think of […]

  16. She Put Contact Paper Down On Her Floor And I Can’t Believe The Beautiful Results | Home - February 6, 2017

    […] Contact paper in the fridge? Why did I never think of […]

  17. She Put Contact Paper Down On Her Floor And I Can't Believe The Beautiful Results | Nifymag.com - February 10, 2017

    […] Contact paper in the fridge? Why did I never think of […]

  18. 6 Fridge Organization Tips You Can Try Today • Grillo Designs - February 10, 2017

    […] In-expensinve Contact paper works a treat too.There’s no need to scrub, simply wipe and the dirt is gone (now doesn’t that sound like every cleaning commercial you’ve ever heard?!) […]

  19. She Put Contact Paper Down On Her Floor And I Can't Believe The Beautiful Results - The How-To Zone - April 22, 2017

    […] Contact paper in the fridge? Why did I never think of […]

  20. 29 Hacks To Decorate Your Rentals With Contact Papers | DIY Insider - August 16, 2017

    […] 23. Line your fridge shelves via The Preppy Leopard […]

  21. The Best 22 Decorating Hacks Using Cheap Contact Paper - Diy - August 26, 2017

    […] amandathevirtuouswife.com & thepreppyleopard.wordpress.com & […]

  22. traiteur rabat - August 29, 2017

    Traiteur Rabat Regal; Traiteur de ronome au Maroc

    Traiteur Rabat Regal au Maroc

  23. The Best 22 Decorating Hacks Using Cheap Contact Paper – frooglly - September 7, 2017

    […] amandathevirtuouswife.com & thepreppyleopard.wordpress.com & […]

  24. The Best 22 Decorating Hacks Using Cheap Contact Paper - Kre-A-Shans - November 9, 2017

    […] Source: amandathevirtuouswife.com & thepreppyleopard.wordpress.com & barntreeplace.com […]

  25. She Put Contact Paper Down On Her Floor And I Can't Believe The Beautiful Results - Deals in Sport Gears - sportgears.co.uk - November 29, 2017

    […] Contact paper in the fridge? Why did I never think of […]

Thanks for reading! You're the best!

