Creating an Office/Dressing Room

9 Jan

One of my favorite things about going to college was all the assignments I had that forced me to write (and write…and write…)  Maybe this is weird (but indicative of what I love), but I really enjoyed crafting fifty page papers or writing about the feminism scale that can be found in both Buffy and the Power Puff Girls.

I’ve found myself writing a lot more recently, but it’s always cross-legged on my couch with my laptop on my knees.  Needless to say, it’s not the most comfortable position in the world.

I’ve been wanting to create a little nook where I can write (and that also can function as a vanity), but I’m torn on whether or not I want to convert a guest bedroom into a closet/office or just create a little nook in my bedroom.

I saw this picture from West Elm, and I thought it was an incredible idea.

A blogger took the doors off her closet and used a desk to create a little writing nook.  This is such an adorable idea!  I have three closets in my room, and I feel like this wouldn’t be that hard to recreate.

Besides writing, I also want to use my desk as a vanity.  Right now, I keep all my makeup/hair stuff in a basket near my kitchen island.  I used to always sit on the floor in front of my bedroom mirror to get ready, but now that I’m old and creaky, my back gets mad at me if I sit uncomfortably for too long.  I figured with the right kind of storage, I could make a space that functions as both!

The same adorable closet/office blogger also created a dressing room!  At this point, I feel like I should just probably hire her to do this for me.

The only real room makeover I’ve ever done was my dining room.  I like how it turned out!  You can check the post out here, but excuse the weird formatting.  I’m not sure why it does that, and it won’t change to be normal no matter what I do!

2 Responses to “Creating an Office/Dressing Room”

  1. Crishana January 9, 2013 at 10:15 am #

    What a great idea and one I am sure you will be able to implement no problem.

  2. soanthro January 9, 2013 at 4:31 pm #

    These are all amazing! I cannot wait to live in a place with a spare room or even little nook I can set up something like one of these 🙂
    xx, Emily
    http://soanthro.com

Thanks for reading! You're the best!

