The Stuff You Need from the Sephora Sale

8 Nov

f4ea3d5048fd721afd6cad39353f8d82

So, I’m not going to pretend I’m some prolific beauty blogger (or, heck, even a regular blogger), but lately I’ve been going hard at Sephora, and ever since the dates were posted for the VIB sale, I’ve been carefully refining my cart.  (If you’re a VIB, you’ll use code 20VIB at checkout from November 11-14.)

8fe32f3f50a7773962edb1540f28869c

Here is all the stuff you need.

Want lashes that look so good people will ask if they are fake?

Then, first, you need to buy the DiorShow Primer. (The real name is like seventeen words long. Who needs to name something that long?)  It’s $30, which is insane, but one tube lasts me for like six months, and I swear it’s made the most amazing difference in my lashes.  Honestly, if you get this primer, then you could even go cheap on the actual mascara, and the only person who will really be able to tell is your mother.

The next thing you need is Too Faced Better than Sex mascara. Throw like two layers of that over your primer, and your lashes will look amazing. (I will admit here…I don’t LOVE the brush, but it’s great for making your lashes really thick and long. I sometimes will finish off with a cheaper mascara that has one of those rubber brushes to make sure everything is combed out.)

Want to figure out how to get perfect skin while struggling with both acne and aging?

I feel like having acne while you’re in your late 20’s is the most unfair thing in the world.  (Okay, that’s exaggerating.)  What worked when we were teens–super harsh drying toners and creams–is no longer great for our aging skin, and if any of you are using those rough, St. Ives scrubs, then see me after class because those are terrible for your skin.

I’m all about acids now. Lactic. Glycolic. Even fruit enzymes.  Basically, using acids to exfoliate your face is a win all around because you’re avoiding scraping it up with scrubs, battling acne, and combating signs of aging.

I am on my third bottle of Ren’s Glycol Lactic Radiance Renewal Mask. It’s a quick mask that combines all my favorite acids into one, and promises to brighten your skin while combating damage (lines, sun, old scars).  It smells…not great, and it feels like you’re smearing smushed up gummi bears on your face, but holy cow, it works.

I also liked Sunday Riley’s Good Genes Lactic Acid treatment…but I ended up never rebuying it after it ran out. So, this is an AHA, which is geared more towards aging skin. (BHAs, by comparison, is more for acne-prone skin, although both kinds of skin can benefit from both types. For a great break down of chemical exfoliants, read this post.)  I liked how it made my skin feel, but ever since I started using Curology (OMG MY HOLY GRAIL, my skin has never been better), I just stick to that and moisturize at night.

I’d also recommend Drunk Elephant’s Glycolic Night serum, but the beauty junkies have bought it all up and it’s currently sold out.  Oops.  Full disclosure: I haven’t tried this myself, but my fellow skincare addicts swear by it, and I trust their opinion.

The last acid you’ll want to consider is a hyaluronic acid, which is for moisturizing. (Scientific story short, it’s basically super small molecules that penetrate your skin better than lotions or creams.) If you’re all about the Sephora points, you could pick up Skin Inc’s version (which I tried and liked) BUT because we’re friends, I’m going to point you over to Deciem and their $6 version. (You read that right. $6.  You’re welcome.)

Do you low-key want Kylie Jenner lips even though you’re publicly on a Kardashian Kleanse?

Girl, I know. I “can’t stand” them either. (Wink.)  But if you want the best nude of your entire life, you have to buy Kat Von D’s Everlasting Lipstick in Lolita II. I don’t have a lot to say about it other than it’s the perfect pinky-nude, and I wear it all the time.

Do you want to look like you’re using the Snapchat Pretty filter in real life?

Then grab the Ambient Lighting Powder from Hourglass. I used my Dim Light to the bottom of the pan, but I think I want to try the Mood Light next.  It makes your skin look all glowy without being greasy.

Do you want to be known as the best Christmas gift giver ever?

My best go-to gift is Sephora’s perfume sampler. I have made so many girlfriends/wives happy by telling all the guys I work with this tip.  You basically are giving them a giftcard to buy perfume, but it feels more meaningful since they’re also getting to sample all the perfumes and pick their favorite. If it’s a girl you like a lot, give her the big sampler.  If it’s a girl you like a little bit, give her the small sampler. If your man smells like the gym ALL the time, then give him the cologne sampler.  (Or just buy that for yourself and pick your favorite and then buy him that one.)

Do you want to know one weird trick for making your eyes pop?

Ignore the click-bait-ish title for a second, and come with me to the world of nude eyeliner.  It will change your life forever.  If you use a little shadow underneath your lower lash line and then rim the waterline of your lower eye with nude, it makes your eyes look HUGE and clear.  A lot of girls do this with white eyeliner–which also technically works, but is really noticeable.  With nude liner, you’ll just look better without anyone realizing what you are doing.

I’ve been using Nars Larger than Life liner in Rue Bonaparte, but I’ve heard other girls swear by Urban Decay’s 24/7 waterline liner in Walk of Shame.  Urban Decay is a few bucks cheaper, so I might try it to compare.

Do you have a $300 Sephora gift card burning a hole in your pocket and also enjoy blow drying your hair?

Sooo the Drybar blow dryer is definitely worth the hype.  This little gift package combines products, the dryer, a curling iron, and a brush.  I didn’t get this exact package, but I got the dryer last year and I love love it.  My hair drys so fast now, and the dryer itself is pretty light.  I’ve never actually used the curling iron (other than someone using it ON me the one time I went to DryBar), so I can’t vouch for its awesomeness.  BUT the Hot Toddy Heat Protectant smells AMAZING and makes my hair really soft, and you get that with this little set which is nice.

If you guys have holy grail products that I missed, please let me know mostly so I can obsess over them too.

 

Thanks for reading! You're the best!