Lobster Love

12 Jun

For any nautical girl, lobsters are a favorite print.  I think it’s because there are so few bright red creatures in nature, and they contrast so prettily against everything!  (Plus, they live in the sea, and are, you know, inherently nautical.)

The item that sparked my lobster obsession was this Cape Cod tote from Kate Spade a few years ago.  I was in college, and it was a huge splurge for me.  But, now I’m so glad I have it!  It’s the perfect beach bag!

Here’s a good Look for Less:

 

Cute, right?  It’s also nearly $200.

Luckily, Old Navy has a dupe that might be even cuter.

And the best part?  It’s only $17 online (although, I paid only $15 in stores).

I’m actually wearing it today, and I paired it with a navy cardigan from Tommy Hilfiger, bright red pants from Nautica, and tan Sperrys.

Some other lobster loves in my life:

My new Longchamp Pliage tote!  I took it to our local Stitching Station and had them embroider my initials and a little lobster on the front.

I got the large, and it’s the perfect size for me.   I was torn between red and navy, but I eventually settled on navy since it would go with more of my wardrobe.

I also got a little cosmetics case from TJ Maxx for $4.95.  I use it to hold stuff like perfume, hair bows, lotion, etc.

Also at TJ Maxx, Tommy Hilfiger has the cutest lobster towels.  My mom knows my love of lobsters, and she bought me this before our most recent trip to Savannah.

Apparently it was only $15 from TJ Maxx, but there’s also a cute hibiscus version online now for $20.

The last of my recent lobster acquisitions is this lobster print polo from Tommy Hilfiger.

You can buy it in either white or navy online now, but I got mine on sale at one of the Tommy outlets!

Here are a few more lobster themed items that I have my eye on:

For the guy in your life, these lobster print board shorts are adorable!

Sperry Top-Sider board shorts – only $38!

Lobster Print Scarf

Lobster Sweater

Lobster Dress (Etsy seller RikkiB)

Milly Lobster Tote

5 Responses to “Lobster Love”

  1. Franziska June 12, 2013 at 10:24 pm #

    we don’t have a ton of lobsters in wisconsin (I know, I was shocked too) but I want that scarf hard core.

  2. Tia June 15, 2013 at 10:53 pm #

    I am crazy for lobster prints too! I simply adore your Longchamp bag! I have been dying to get one before I go off to college and am dreaming about one in navy with a monogram of course.:)

    • The Preppy Leopard June 17, 2013 at 9:18 am #

      I got mine from Nordstrom, but lately I’ve been trolling eBay, and it seems like you can get them $20-$30 cheaper there. I might try eBay to get a black or red version and see how it goes.

      Maybe you can sweet talk your parents into getting you one as a “graduation” gift. Haha. If you get the large size, it can definitely hold school supplies!

  3. Kate June 20, 2013 at 5:23 pm #

    Why does the TB top have to be $200!?

    I love the sweater! Still jealous of your KS bag!

Thanks for reading! You're the best!

