Dizzy Lizzie Review

18 Apr

One of my favorite things about blogging is getting to learn about new brands, and I was super excited to talk to the incredibly nice people at Dizzy Lizzie.

Liz Lighton, the design director at Dizzy Lizzie, started making the shirts and tunics that she wanted to wear, and now new prints in the classic styles come out every season.

They sent me a box full of clothes to try on and review.  (Just in time for vacation too!  I was expecting like one thing, and they just made my day.  Thank you so much!)

 One of the first pieces I wanted to show you is this Denim tunic.

Photo from my Instagram

 At first, I was a little apprehensive at the shape when it was laying on my bed.  It was so…well, shapeless!  But I guess that’s the beauty of a tunic–once I slipped it on, I actually said “CUTE!” out loud when I looked in the mirror.  And then I realized the cuffs roll up to reveal an adorable red and navy print!  Eek!  So cute, right?!

I posted this outfit on Instagram this morning, and one of my blogging BFFs Franish commented that I looked so comfy.  And she’s right!  Usually denim shirts can be kind of stiff and scratchy, but whatever this fabric is, it’s extremely soft.

I have another tunic I got from Talbot’s last year that I haven’t worn yet because tunics are a little confusing to me.  Do you treat them like a shirt?  Or a really short dress?  I’m a little stumped.  Do any of you guys have any tips for styling a tunic?

I finally settled on everyone’s favorite staple–the legging.  Because tunics are supposed to be a little over sized, I think balancing their volume with a slim bottom helps it not look sloppy.   Then I added some black Tory Burch Revas and a Lilly Pulitzer anchor necklace to make it a little more polished for work.

My final thoughts?  I’m sold on tunics.  I like this outfit so much that I think it will be the perfect thing to wear on our million hour flight we have coming up to Barcelona.  It’s polished, but comfortable!

Dizzy Lizzie sent me a few other pieces to try on, and I hope to show you those soon.   One of the dresses is a crazy crazy print that I’m going to have to hype myself up to wear (I’m so boring in my navys and blacks!  I’m sorry!) and the skirts are a wee bit too small, so I’m having them altered to fit better.

In the meantime, here’s a few more items on their website that I really like!

 

I love the navy and white print on this Vail Tunic, and even better, the sleeve cuffs can be rolled up for a little leopard twist!  I actually might have to order this one for myself if my bank account is ever happy at me again!  It looks so big when it’s displayed, but don’t let that turn you off.  I promise they fit really nicely!

Here’s a tunic (the Aspen Tunic) that I think would be extremely flattering on–I like how it nips in at the waist.

Like Dizzy Lizzie on FB!

PS:  I was sent the tunic for review, but it should go without saying that all opinions and thoughts are my own.  I get a lot of emails to work with brands, but I only say yes to a few.  I never want this to become a blog where you only see what I’m paid to talk about!

7 Responses to “Dizzy Lizzie Review”

  1. Franziska April 18, 2013 at 9:29 pm #

    oh man, now I want so many tunics! I think the best part is that it seems like it’s a bit of a new shape for you but you still made it look so YOU, ya know? it would be a perfect traveling outfit!

    • The Preppy Leopard April 29, 2013 at 3:35 pm #

      Thanks, boo. That’s like the perfect observation. I was actually really worried when they sent it to me, but I ended up really liking it.

  2. soanthro April 23, 2013 at 2:55 pm #

    Cute!! I NEED to invest in more tunics, must check out what else they carry!
    xx, Emily
    http://soanthro.com

  3. Michael Kors Bags May 6, 2013 at 7:45 am #

    Hello everyone, it’s my first pay a quick visit at this site, and article is actually fruitful for me, keep up posting these types of content.

  4. Silvia December 6, 2013 at 1:50 am #

    Please let me know if you’re looking for a author for your blog.
    You have some really great posts and I think I would be a
    good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d really like to write some material
    for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine. Please shoot
    me an email if interested. Regards!

  5. Comment Generer des Leads January 4, 2014 at 4:05 am #

    It’s enormous that you are getting ideas from this piece of writing as well as from our argument made here.

  6. batlefield heroes play4free codes January 4, 2014 at 8:56 am #

    Hmm it appears like your site ate my first comment (it
    was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I submitted
    and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog. I too am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new
    to the whole thing. Do you have any tips and hints for
    first-time blog writers? I’d certainly appreciate it.

Thanks for reading! You're the best!

