House Tour + Preppy Bedroom Inspiration

6 Feb

I’ve been (very slowly) working on redoing some of the rooms in my house.

This is my living room!  I used cheap bookcases from Walmart and pushed them all back against the wall.  I can use the top to house my massive book collection, and the bottom (behind the couch) for storage!

My dining room.  The moose is from Z Gallerie.

My latest project was painting the wall behind my TV — I have a flowing first floor (everything is connected and open), so I wanted to keep a consistent theme.

So now my next projects are upstairs – my bedroom and the guest bedrooms.  Ever since my roommate bought her own house (SNIFF), her bedroom has consisted of a bed, a light, and that’s it.  I realized the other day that even if I wanted house guests, I couldn’t host them!  So, I figured it was time to get a guest bedroom in shape.

And, since I was at it, my master bedroom could use a little love too.

Here’s my current bedspread:

I loved it from the minute I saw it at Target, but never wanted to spend the money on it.  Then, one glorious day, there was one (in my bed’s size!) marked down in the back of the store, and I knew it was fate.

I think I want to stick with the navy and white theme in my bedroom, but then have the guest bedroom be gray (and navy and white.  I have a hard time getting away from my favorite colors.)

I picked up this duvet cover set from Target (on sale, obviously)

And I’m toying with a medium gray wall to contrast.

Here’s some of my bedroom inspirations!

(Since I’ve used this technique like seven other times in my house, I might tape off the wall and make a faux headboard in the guest bedroom!)

I’ve actually already done something similar to this in my bedroom–only instead of gray curtains, I used navy.

3 Responses to “House Tour + Preppy Bedroom Inspiration”

  1. Christopher Hines February 6, 2013 at 3:32 pm #

    Great interior designing ideas.

  2. Kate February 7, 2013 at 7:48 pm #

    I love love love your navy and white bedding. I can’t believe it’s Target!

    I am so jealous you have a guest room to decorate!

    • The Preppy Leopard February 7, 2013 at 9:55 pm #

      I actually have two! But one is “storage” right now, and the other is just empty. I keep those doors closed when company comes over. -housewifefail-

Thanks for reading! You're the best!

