Unexpected Fashion Inspiration: The Nanny

31 Dec

I was a weird kid.  While most kids loved My Little Pony or Pound Puppies, one of my favorite shows was The Nanny.  Granted, 80% of the humor went over my head, but I remember liking her voice, her laugh, and her outfits.

Tonight, we’re throwing an I Love the 90’s costume party, and while I was thiiiiiiis close to Cher from Clueless, I ultimately decided to be Fran from The Nanny.  (Last year, we had a Very Disney New Year, and I (of course) had to be Snow White.  I basically want to be any character that lets me still wear red lipstick.)

As I was researching some of Fran’s more iconic outfits, I stumbled across this rather ingenious (if now dead) blog about how The Nanny’s fashion is still wayyyy relevant.  (Also, photo shopping Fran’s head on random models?  So much fun.)

I never realized how many individual pieces I have could be mashed together to create a truly glorious 90’s outfit.  This might be a bad thing.

Here’s a little mood board I created for inspiration:

the preppy leopard - the nanny costume inspiration

Some good take-aways from Ms. Vine’s style:

1.  Graphic prints are always more fun with happy pops of color

2.  Leopard pairs best with black or red

3.  Sequins aren’t just for night time!

4.  Black stockings make the shortest skirts a little more appropriate.

5.  Confidence!  I love how Fran was so obviously out of place in that UES town house, but her killer confidence earned her tons of respect!

Check out my Instagram if you want to see some of our party pics from tonight!  I don’t usually do a lot of outfit pictures on this blog, but I’m always posting on Instagram!  (It’s just easier.)

Lastly, this is semi-off topic, but while I was looking for leopard and black coats, I came across this stunner from Miu Miu.

miu miu coat

It’s pretty much perfect (except for the $4550 price tag).

5 Responses to “Unexpected Fashion Inspiration: The Nanny”

  1. franishh January 1, 2013 at 12:35 am #

    seeing my name in 1 post so many times was very confusing.

  2. PreppyPrincess.com January 5, 2013 at 10:13 pm #

    It is an unexpected source, but I like what you shared!

  3. York Design Company January 9, 2013 at 9:55 am #

    Preppy & leopard in the same title? I’m hooked. How have I not come across this before? Loved The Nanny, thanks for sharing the inspiration outfits!

    • The Preppy Leopard January 9, 2013 at 10:11 am #

      Thanks! People always look at me weird when I tell them I love being preppy AND leopard print, but when I explain it as the love child of Blair Waldorf and Dita von Teese then they suddenly understand. Haha

Thanks for reading! You're the best!

