Picking a New Perfume

8 Dec

I’ve been wanting a new perfume scent for awhile now, but it always feels really overwhelming to smell sixty different bottles at Sephora.

My first “real” perfume was Estee Lauder’s Beyond Paradise.  I wore it all through Junior High.  I caught a whiff of this last month though, and nearly gagged.  It was so cloying and sweet that I couldn’t think of why I loved it so much.  (Maybe our sense of smell evolves as we get older?)

My next perfumes came from Abercrombie & Fitch, and if you can get the omnipresent “Fierce” smell out of your nose, they actually have some good women’s perfume.

I wore “8” for a few years..

And then switched to Ruehl’s No 925 perfume…which to this day is one of my favorites ever.  (Too bad the brand is now defunct, although you can still find a few bottles floating around online.)

I also wore Paris Hilton’s perfume for awhile, and surprisingly, it did not smell like bottled skank.  It’s actually a rather nice scent.  Go figure.  It was in my teenage budget so…

After graduating high school, I got Juicy Couture’s fragrance, and I wore that for years.

I still really love the scent even today.  I guess I’m just looking for something new though.

I’m a member of People Style Watch’s “Style Collective”, which is cool because they’ll send you free samples of products to try out.  (I once got a Dior mascara!  Baller status!)

They sent me a trio of perfumes to test, and I feel bad saying I don’t love any of them.  (Don’t stop sending me things, Style Watch!  I might not like the perfume, but I still like you!)

Okay, so here’s what I got.

Lady Gaga’s “Fame” scent.  This is probably the coolest perfume bottle of my life.  It looks like a potion that an Evil Queen would keep in her castle dungeon.  When the top comes off, it’s like this giant golden claw.  I’m kind of obsessed with it.  And that black?  It’s the actual liquid.  (I know, right?)  It sprays clear, which is so SCIENCE-Y.

Out of all three perfumes I received, I probably liked this one initially the best.  Spicy flowers with honey?  But then, I stumbled across interviews where she talks about the fragrance, and it turned me off completely.  I’m sorry, I don’t care that your career is built on “shock value”, but wanting your fans to smell like “explosive hooker”?  Not up my alley.  (Although, for the record, I don’t think it smells like a hooker.  But I’ve never sniffed a hooker, so maybe I don’t know what I’m talking about.  Also, I can’t believe I just said all those words together.  Sigh.)

Next was Beyonce’s Midnight Heat perfume.

Since I had been so wowed by Lady Gaga’s bottle, I was a little bored by this.  It just looks like a stereotypical pop star perfume.  The smell was just okay too–it’s super fruity, and I typically don’t like fruit-driven scents.  But, I don’t hate it.  I’ll probably wear it sporadically.

(Note:  Do not rub the above two scents together to create a new scent because you are feeling creative.  It smells terrible.)

Lastly was Playboy’s VIP perfume.

The bottle is kind of adorable–I love the ears with the little gold bowtie.   It’s hard for me to tell you what it smells like because the scent is so light.  I suppose that’s good for people who like a subtle perfume, but I don’t mind a strong fragrance.  I actually had to do some research to see exactly what I was smelling.  It was interesting to see that there was a hint of cashmere–I didn’t know cashmere even had a smell!

So, which perfume am I going to end up picking?  Let’s go wayyyy into left field for a minute.  My personal shopper at Nordstrom recommended one to me, and I take like five samples every time I’m in the store.

Viktor & Rolf’s Spicebomb is amazing.  Yes, I know it’s a men’s cologne, but I’m so obsessed with how it smells.  And it lasts forever.  Maybe someone will buy it for me for Christmas!  (HINTHINT)

Do you guys have any favorite perfumes?  Or is there a perfume that reminds you of a certain time of your life?

(Note:  I received “Fame”, “Midnight Heat”, and “VIP” as promotional samples from People’s Style Watch magazine.  Obviously, all opinions are my own. )

5 Responses to “Picking a New Perfume”

  1. alexcarolyn December 8, 2012 at 4:06 pm #

    Ahh, I so feel your pain with finding a new scent. My favourite perfume (Fidji by Guy LaRoche) is always really hard to find, and when I do, it’s about $100 for a small bottle. Sooo frustrating.

    It’s also hard because I might like a scent, but feel that it’s not really “me”, you know?

    I also tend to like guys cologne better than a lot of women’s perfume. With the exception of Hollister/Abercrombie, which my little brothers practically shower in. I’ll have to check out Spicebomb!

    • The Preppy Leopard December 9, 2012 at 9:27 am #

      You are so fancy. Haha. I’m not sure what it says about me that my holy grail perfume is from a now defunct Abercrombie brand.

      Although, I do agree that I like manly scents more. When I was younger it was all girly all the time. Maybe maturity affects your smell?

  2. franishh December 8, 2012 at 8:45 pm #

    serious LOL to bottled skank.

    my favorite (for the last 10 years) has been Ralph Lauren Blue. Once in a white I change it up to Burberry Brit, but Blue is my go-to 🙂

    • The Preppy Leopard December 9, 2012 at 9:29 am #

      I like when someone has a signature scent. I have friends like that who always smell the same, and when I’m out and get a whiff, I’m all OMG I SMELLED YOU THE OTHER DAY AT THE DRY CLEANER and then it’s awkward.

  3. respect the shoes December 11, 2012 at 1:13 am #

    In high school, I wore Tresor by Lancome. I thought I was being mature and “mysterious” but when I smell it now, it’s totally too heavy floral for me – what must have others thought of me back then, especially because I totally dressed like a tomboy too!

Thanks for reading! You're the best!

