Political Prettiness

26 Oct

No matter your political party of choice, there are a plethora of ways to cast your vote this election season.

Can’t make up your mind?  Snag these embroidered slippers from Stubbs & Wootton.  Or, if you know your party, grab a pair of elephants or donkeys.

[Image source]

Or how about these Lilly Pulitzer Murfette scarves?  It looks like the elephant is all sold out, but never fear.  Tusk In Sun is here!

Lilly Pulitzer Tusk in Sun print Hart Tank

Does your dog have strong political opinions?  Let him express himself on his walks!

Democrat Dog collar from BiscuitandGravy on Etsy.

Republican Dog Collar from WatsonandLucille on Etsy

How about some appliques to iron on your favorite t-shirt?

Republican applique from Southern Prep, Co.

Democratic applique from Southern Prep, Co.

Or do you love Toms shoes?

Republican Toms

Democrat Toms

There are a lot of cute accessories available on Etsy too.  Stickers, pins, necklaces, shirts–pretty much anything you’d want.

And, after all the frivolity, time to talk politics.

Here’s my story of how I got involved.  I was at the gym at college late on night wayyyy back in 2008.  The television in front of me was turned to the news (boring!) and some dude was making a speech to a crowd.  Apparently, it was an election year, but as a very cool college student, I had more important things to think about.

Then, something the man on television said caught my attention.  It was along the lines of “And if you vote for me, I will save you from those predatory credit card companies.  They’re keeping you in debt, and it’s not fair!”

What?  I started paying attention.  See.   In my world, spent my money.  Me.  My credit card bill was my own responsibility.  I wasn’t voting based on the promises of a politician to reduce my debt.  But, the girl on the elliptical next to me was all gung ho about it.

So, I went home and did some research.  That man was Barack Obama.  And, the more I researched, the more I didn’t agree with his political ideals.  I was raised in a conservative home, but my parents were not political.  (Even I still believe that elections are ultimately in God’s hands.)  So, I started doing some homework, and fiscally, what Mr. Obama was saying didn’t make sense to me.

I say all that to say this:  When you vote, don’t vote for a party.  Don’t vote because someone is white or black.  Don’t vote because you relate to him or had a similar childhood.  Don’t vote for someone because he is “cool” or “looks like a president”.  Don’t vote based off who got the most zings in a debate, and don’t vote based off who was funny on a late night talk show.

Vote on the issues.   Do your homework.   There are some very helpful websites like On the Issues or I Side With that has some really great, unbiased information.

Know why you’re voting.  In college, I did a political segment for our campus television station where I had to interview kids on campus about who they were voting for and why.  Since it was a college campus, the answers were overwhelming liberal, which is fine.  But not one kid could give me a clear reason why they were voting.  Answers ranged from “Change!” to “Hope!” to “McCain is old!” to “George Bush is an idiot!” to “He seems cool.”

Listen, I don’t care who you vote for.  But, just know why you’re voting.  Our age group is large and powerful, and don’t undercut our intelligence by voting for someone because “Well, I think McCain looks like a chipmunk so…Obama 2008!”

Are any of you guys particularly politically active?  Or is there any specific issue you care about more than others?  My personal biggest issue is the economy and taxes, but I’m curious to hear what other people think.

One Response to “Political Prettiness”

  1. lyddiegal October 29, 2012 at 11:46 am #

    I haven’t really done enough research to properly debate politics with anyone so I keep my opinions to myself. I do think that elephant print tank is pretty damn cute though.

Thanks for reading! You're the best!

