DIY Tory Burch Fox Sweater

16 Oct

After the gorgeous foxy line for Tory Burch emerged, obviously I really loved What I Wore’s take on the trend.  But, instead of making slippers, I wanted to add a little vulpine edge to my cardigan!

The full instructions for the DIY are here, but here are some additional tips I picked up.

1.  Watch Vampire Diaries while you work.  It makes the time go by a little faster.

2.  But don’t get so distracted you don’t pay good attention to your stitches.  For whatever reason, the embroidery thread I used kept getting tangled at random times, and I finally figured out how to hold the last stitch in line while making a new one. 

3.  Don’t wait until the last step to sew on the black felt border.  I did, and had to go back and resew extra stiches to secure it.  Just do it all in one fell swoop.

My finished product!  I’m kind of domestically challenged, so I’m really happy with how it turned out.  I ended up not using any hot glue and instead sewed it on my cardigan with black thread.  I also made the head pretty big–like softball sized.

What do you guys think?

It was a really easy tutorial to follow, and I started with the fox so that I could eventually create my own leopard or nautical appliques!  I just wanted to get the process down first.

Tory Burch’s version: $495

My version?

Cardigan:  $15
Felt squares:  $3
Thread:  $3
Needles:  $2
Total:  $22

BALLER STATUS.

6 Responses to “DIY Tory Burch Fox Sweater”

  1. Crishana October 16, 2012 at 2:41 pm #

    Super cute!

  2. Jane October 16, 2012 at 3:32 pm #

    Love it!!!! Great DIY project.

  3. Jenni October 16, 2012 at 8:08 pm #

    Hey girl! I’m in Vinton, near Roanoke! LOVE it here. 🙂 Can’t wait to plan my next trip to VA!

  4. lyddiegal October 16, 2012 at 11:47 pm #

    that came out so well – your fox face looks so awesome!

  5. Laura @ Twelve by Six October 18, 2012 at 9:50 am #

    Wow, that turned out so adorable! Love it and might have to try… I’ve been infatuated with animal sweaters this fall too!

Thanks for reading! You're the best!

