The Cutest Ugly Sweaters

3 Oct

It all started with this picture.  My first thought was–“That is a great trove of Ugly Sweaters for parties.”  But then, I kind of wanted one.  Like, really wanted one.  Then I saw this sweater from Ralph Lauren:

The Preppy Leopard Instagram

And I died.  I think on the coat tails of this animal-head-on-a-sweater trend is the re-emergence of the ugly sweater.

The thing is…if they’re styled correctly, they’re really not that ugly at all.  In fact, I really love the preppy overtone and the vintage feel.

So, you want to buy an ugly sweater and make it awesome?  Here are some tips.

1.  Your local thrift store.  People are always giving away these kinds of sweaters because they think they’re outdated.  We know the difference, right?

2.  Ebay.  Do searches like “fair isle”, “animal vintage sweater”, or any other particular things you’d like on your sweaters.  (I, for instance, have done extensive searches for foxes, horses, and mallards.)  Also, using “woolrich” will get you some really epic results.

Here’s some sweaters I’ve found that I really love on Ebay:

Vintage Woolrich Mallard Duck Pullover

Vintage Woolrich Reindeer Sweater

Now, how to style an ugly sweater without looking like you got lost on your way to a Christmas party?

Be deliberate.  Use the sweater as your starting piece, and coordinate the rest of your outfit to match.

(I don’t know the source for this, but it looks like KJP.)

What do you guys think?  Are Ugly Sweaters about to make a come back?

4 Responses to “The Cutest Ugly Sweaters”

  1. franishh October 3, 2012 at 8:00 pm #

    I like them a lot – they look so comfy. I don’t know how they would look on ME but I want to give it a try now.

  2. Laura @ Twelve by Six October 4, 2012 at 9:46 pm #

    I love these finds (especially that vintage reindeer one!), and I’m totally with you – I like animal sweaters (maybe not ducks so much, but that’s just a little too rustic for my taste) and definitely fair isle prints too! Your tip to be deliberate with it is key, I think making the rest of the outfit simple and letting the sweater stand out is the best way to not be over the top with it. Found your blog via Franishh! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Preppy Staple: Quilted Jackets « The Preppy Leopard - October 20, 2012

    […] you can use my new favorite, the ugly sweater, that picks up on the colors in your […]

  2. Vintage “Ugly” Preppy Sweaters « The Preppy Leopard - December 11, 2012

    […] If you’re wondering why I care so much about “ugly” sweaters, read this! […]

Thanks for reading! You're the best!

