Gossip Girl Style Recap: 01×01

26 Aug

It seems like just yesterday that I was in college and eagerly awaiting the next hit CW show from Josh Schwartz and co.  After all, I had spent years with Ryan, Seth, Marissa, and Summer (before they jumped the shark and Marissa got annoying), and I was so so so excited to see the visual representation of Cecily von Ziesgar’s titular characters.

Kind of like The OC, Gossip Girl was initially a huge hit, but later seasons were lackluster.  With GG’s final season fast approaching, I figured I would take a walk back through why I initially loved this show.

Sure, the plot, the acting–but, gosh, the clothes!  Seasons One and Two produced some truly epic outfits–and I still define my style as Season One Blair Waldorf meets Dita von Teese.

I know this was done to death a few years ago, but some of these outfits are just too good to forget.

Our first glimpse of Serena.

Tan Cape / Striped TeeJeans / Scarf / Boots / Bag

And the first of (many) iconic school-girl prep looks from Blair.

Blazer / Button Down / Bow Tie / Skirt / Loafers / Headband

3 Responses to “Gossip Girl Style Recap: 01×01”

  1. Kate August 27, 2012 at 5:59 pm #

    Style Network is re-airing GG. Forgot how much I loved the first season! I am glad it is ending. It’s too crazy now-odd couples and almost everyone is annoying me!

  2. Kelli Nicole August 30, 2012 at 3:05 pm #

    I actually just started watching Gossip Girl on Netflix and I am loving their style as well! Up to Season 3!

    • thepreppyleopard August 30, 2012 at 5:00 pm #

      I love that the whole series is on Netflix!! Unfortunately, I think the later seasons weren’t as great–both for plot and for fashion.

Thanks for reading! You're the best!

