Kirna Zabête for Target Shops

10 Aug

I’m still not sure how I feel about Target’s new collaboration concept–The Shops.  Granted, I really liked The Webster collection (the mix of preppy and beachy was perfect for summer), and I even taped a television segment about my shopping habits (woohoo fame!), but I have to be honest.

I have never even heard of Kirna Zabête, the designers of the next women’s collaboration for Target (due out in stores on September 9).  But, maybe that’s exactly what Target intends to do–introduce the masses to new brands.

Target’s blog just released the full look book, and it’s a lot of mixed prints, fabrics, and layers.  (Some of the crazier outfits remind me of something The Man Repeller would throw together.)

There were a few cute pieces that I wouldn’t mind buying.

Image

I love the proportions to this look. Granted, I’d rather take the skirt in navy, but I like the look of a pussy bow blouse tucked into a pleated skirt and an edgy jacket.  It’s very classic styling updated to be a little more wild–which is what I’m all about!

Image

I’m not really a floral fan, but again, the proportions on this are kind of amazing.  The tuxedo jacket over the floral maxi dress and the lace stockings.  I might not style it exactly the same way (this is a little too Courtney Love in the 90’s for my taste), but the concept is really interesting.  And everyone needs a good tuxedo jacket, right?

Image

Again, the proportions!  As much as I love leopard, I hate gray monochromatic leopard.  (Commit to the color, people!)  But, I am obsessed with this skirt.  A classic piece in a leather that will be amazing for fall?  Sign me up!

Image

This whole look is a little too…much.  But I like the idea of layering a dolmain sleeve sweater over a long-sleeve knit.

Image

Okay, so these are kind of cute, but they look a little cheap.  The lipstick loving side of me, though, can’t resist.

Image

I’m trying to figure out what’s going on here…because I kind of like it.  I think it’s a long cardigan layered over a sheer shirt-dress.  It’s mismatched, but the belt kind of ties everything together.

I’ve heard good things about the homegoods collaboration too, but I haven’t seen a lookbook yet.

The men’s line will be done by Odin, and it was kind of boring except for this:

I’m trying to wear that sweater every day this winter.

2 Responses to “Kirna Zabête for Target Shops”

  1. Christina September 9, 2012 at 5:17 pm #

    My issue with KZ is that every piece has black in it. Brown and chocolates are nowhere to be found. Just odd looks overall
    imo

    • The Preppy Leopard September 9, 2012 at 6:05 pm #

      I totally agree! I saw it all in person today and was not impressed. It looks pretty dated and everything was made for midgets.

Thanks for reading! You're the best!

