Knee High Riding Boots for Tall Girls

18 Jul
So, I try not to whine about it too much, but sometimes shopping gets a little complicated for me.  I’m 5’11 with a really short torso–so this means most dresses, skirts, and pants can tend to look way too short because my legs are abnormally long.  (I know this can start to sound eye-roll-worthy, “My legs are just so long…”, but I can’t just walk into a store and buy clothes and know they’ll fit.  It can get frustrating–especially since I’m not trying to show off all of my legs.)
Part of the complication with being taller than normal is my shoe size.  My feet are a size 11.  Now, on the bright side, at least a size 11 is on the very top of the range that is normally available in stores.  But, more often than not, I can’t find my size.
All of these factors have combined together and hindered me in my search for the perfect riding boot.  I think a great riding boot stops right below your knee, but when you’re tall, even knee high boots look mid-calf.  And forget worrying about fitting a calf–if I don’t have a little stretch, then I can’t tuck in my jeans, and what’s the point of wearing riding boots if you can’t tuck your pants?!
For the past few years, I’ve been on the look out for great knee high riding boots.  You guys know I shop a lot, but I’ve never found a pair that is my size, is tall enough, and has a wide enough calf.
Last year, I thought I’d found a winner in these Chinese Laundry boots:
What’s great about these (besides the awesome price), is that the back has a nice bit of elastic to help ensure a snug fit.
I ended up returning them because, for me, the elastic started to fray and got a little too stretched out.  (Guess it serves me right for tucking all my jeans!)
But, the height is great (17″) and hit me right below the knee.  (Plus, you can fold them for a different look!)
Another great tall boot is also by Chinese Laundry.
Chinese Laundry “South Bay” Over the knee boot – $99.95
These are actually a whopping 22″ tall–which would put these right at or right above my knee cap.  These also have a stretchy panel in the back to help fit a bigger calf circumference.
These Lane Bryant boots seem like they would be a great choice too:
Lane Bryant Over-the-Knee Stretch boot – $84.95
These also come in brown, and right now, if you use code JULYGIFTLB, you can save at least $25 off one pair, and $50 off if you get both pairs.   The shaft is 20″, which on me would be right below my knee.  Plus, the calf goes up to 18″ due to the stretchy panels, so jeans could easily tuck in with no problem.
Long Tall Sally Patent Leather Boots – on sale for $75
These are another great option–stretchy paneling in the back allow for wider calves, and the shaft is 22″ tall!
You can always go straight to the source and get yourself a real pair of riding boots.  I think the leather is beautiful, and while you’re paying a little more, you’re getting a quality shoe.  Search for “leather riding boots” and a half dozen sites specifically for dressage riding boots will come back.  All these boots will be very tall, and a good deal of them had inserts to fit a variety of calves.
Frye also makes an amazing boot (with extended sizes!) but I just can’t wrap my head around spending close to $400 on shoes.  (Well, I could, but I would feel guilty.)
Do you guys have any good resources for great riding boots?  Let me know!
2 Responses to “Knee High Riding Boots for Tall Girls”

  1. Kate July 18, 2012 at 5:02 pm #

    I so feel you on this! I think I am close to 5'11 (might technically be 5'10.5 though…). Anyway I found a pair of J.Crew riding boots that I love. I got the extended calf and they fit great. I didn't want to pay full price so I waited until they went on sale

  2. Ursula Rose July 22, 2012 at 2:52 pm #

    Hi there – have you looked at the Lucy Long boots worn by Kate Middleton -www.RosesSpanishBoots.com

Thanks for reading! You're the best!

