Finding the Perfect Bombshell Dress

10 Apr
One of the things I like about my Young Adults group at church is that we never have any lack of activities to do!  One of my favorite events every year is the Spring Formal.   Sadly, it’s become kind of a running joke that it gets canceled every year, and I’m one of the only people who lament its loss.  (But, when they have a reason like donating the money to Africa instead..well…you can’t exactly get too upset.)
I guess I just like dressing up.  If I have a reason to wear a pretty dress and heels, then I’m one happy camper.
Everyone’s been asking me if I’m buying something new, and I keep telling them, “No, no, I already have like 34323 dresses in my closet that don’t get enough wear.  I’ll just wear something I already own.”
Ha.  Freaking.  Ha.
Who was I kidding?!
Of COURSE I want to buy something new.  I tried to be frugal for like 33 seconds, but then the thought of collecting another pretty dress won me over.
I’ve been wanting a quintessential bombshell dress.  You known the kind…slinky, and satin, and in a bright shade that I can wear with my beloved red lipstick.  Now, I’m not 100% sold on the exact kind (watch some pink frothy concoction steal my heart when I was sold on red silk), but here’s some of my favorites.
Red satin dress from Stop Staring
Drive Me Wild dress from Modcloth
Queen of Heartz Brenda Swing Dress
Red Satin Happily Ever After swing dress
I don’t know if I’ve found THE ONE yet, but I do have a pet peeve that came up while I was searching.
Hey, online retailers *cough*MODCLOTH*cough*, stop listing stuff in my search results if it is SOLD OUT.  You keep getting my hopes up and then CRUSHING THEM under your well-heeled feet, and I’m sick of it.
xoxoox
Tierney
3 Responses to “Finding the Perfect Bombshell Dress”

  1. Meg (The Red Spoon) April 10, 2012 at 2:22 pm #

    It snuck up on me this year, so it looks like I will wear an old dress (hopefully the ones from high school still fit!) but I was thinking of wearing my red one too!

  2. Donna April 10, 2012 at 11:16 pm #

    I totally have my own list of Modcloth dresses in my mind that I would buy if we did a formal. I wonder if Superking will actually let me buy one…

  3. Chalupa April 13, 2012 at 8:50 am #

    I love the red one with the scalloped neckline! I want to go to the formal too!!!

Thanks for reading! You're the best!

