Jason Wu for Target: A Mission Complete

5 Feb
Thankfully, copious amounts of obsessing and planning paid off.
Here’s how my day went:
Saturday, February 4 @ 10pm:  Double-checked that no new release time had been posted, and went to bed expecting an “Early Morning” release on Sunday.  I set my alarm for 4 am.
10pm-3:30am:  Tossed and turned and dreamed about getting my navy poplin dress.
3:58am:  Woke up with an overwhelming sense of dread.  Signed on to Target and saw they released the entire line.   Scrambled and clicked like a mad woman.  Upon checking out, the site crashed.  Repeatedly.  I was soclose, but now SO FAR away.  Items would sell out while in my online basket, and I would have to put them back in.  Finally, after a little prayer, the site magically worked–letting me check out, and then crashing again when I finally got an order successful message.
4:15am:  Got an order confirmation email.  Saw on the Target Style Facebook page that peoples’ orders were getting canceled, and started freaking out.  Luckily, I never got a cancellation email.
4:20am:  Tried over and over to buy my beloved navy poplin dress, but to no avail.  I find out that Target actually released it around midnight (THOSE LIARS!) and it quickly sold out.  I check all the local stores near me, and it’s not in stock anywhere except one store, which has a limited quantity.
4:30am-7am:  Fitful sleep as I worried about my navy poplin dress.  Finally, I actually had to pray about it, because I felt stupid not sleeping over a dress.  (Albeit, a really, really cute dress.)  I just said “If I’m supposed to have this dress, I’ll get the dress.  No more stress.”
7:30 am:  My mom calls wondering where I am.  I check my phone time and SHOOT, I overslept!  I distinctly remembering my alarm going off at 6:45 am, but I must have fallen back asleep.  I throw on random clothes and text my mom a detailed list of everything she needs to look for.  She is hitting the Target in Sterling, while I stake out the other Target in Sterling.  (Yes, our area has like seven Targets within a 20 mile radius.  Yay, Surburbia!)
7:54 am:  Talking to my mom on the phone.  Apparently there is a line at her Target.  I tell her to be brave.
7:55 am:  Pull up to my Target, and see a crowd of disheveled looking women.  Luckily, the clothes I threw on were cute, and I was wearing red lipstick, so I felt like I had a competitive edge.
7:58am:  Doors open.  Madness ensues.  Like ten women get to the section before I do, but they are not prepared.  I am a shopping machine, using my Go-Go Gadget arms to reach over top people who are contemplating and snatch anything that looks interesting.  But..where’s my navy poplin dress?  I CAN’T FIND MY DRESS?!?!   
7:59am:  I see my dress–two sizes left, and there’s a woman with her hands on one.  I grab the other, even though it’s four sizes too big.  She’s holding my size.  We exchange a look of understanding, and I let go of mine and grab hers, and she lets go of hers and grabs mine.   THE NAVY POPLIN DRESS IS MINE!
8:01am:  I get to accessories, where women are standing and contemplating what to get.  Not this girl!!!! I swoop in and grab the last tote and scarf while some lady describes everything to her friend on the phone.
8:03am:  Despite being the tenth one in the store, I am the first one checking out.
8:04am:  Back in my car and call my mom.  She said crazy eBay people were at her store–literally taking entire racks and dumping them in their carts.  But, she put her black-belt skills to work and came out victorious.
8:10am:  We drink coffee at Corner Bakery and compare our successes.   I feel like I successfully planned and won a war.
Okay, so here are some pictures of what I scored.  I’m not going to keep all of this, but I wanted to try on everything and then decide at home when I wasn’t stressed.  
Here’s what I got online:
Flared Dress in Black with nude patent belt
Sleeveless Chiffon dress in navy floral with Gold belt
Blouse with Tie in Navy Dots
Flared dress in Cream with Black patent belt
Long-sleeve pointelle sweater in red
Collared Cap-Sleeve Pleated Blouse in Gold
Pleated skirt in black

And then, here’s what my mom and I got today:

KITTY CAT TOTE!  Eeeeek.

Dot print dress in cream (I added my own belt…it looks so shapeless on the hanger!)

Close up of the print–it’s actually little tires!

Short sleeve tee with tie in cream

Short sleeve tee with cat in cream

Short sleeve tee with tie in blush

Short sleeve shirt in heather gray with lace print

Long sleeve sheer blouse with dots in blush

Cat scarf

Short sleeve tee in navy with stripes

black pleated skirt

THE HOLY GRAIL!

EEEEEK I LOVE YOU POPLIN DRESSSS!
What I already know I am returning:
The Gold Chiffon Top (I bought two on accident!) and the Black Pleated skirt (I ordered one size online and my mom got me one in the store).  Also the blush polka dot long sleeve top (gaps weird at the bust)  I also think I’m returning the gray/lace shirt and one of the kitty cat shirts (since my mom got me one and I bought one).  
Here are my thoughts on sizing:
The skirt feels really small, but I have the dress in the same size, and it’s way too big.  Also, some of the tie-neck shirts seem too big, but then the long sleeve sheer blouse is the same size, but too small.  You’re probably better off buying big and having it tailored.
The cat tote is HUGE and roomy.  Very cute.  The scarf is actually really cute in person too.  All the t-shirt materials are really soft and don’t feel cheap at all.
Okay.  Phew.  What a day.   The only things I didn’t get (that I really wanted) were the blue pleated skirt with stripes, the white shirt with the black tie, and the trench (either color).  Apparently though, at least in my area, the trucks (carrying the line) were late, and they were missing a lot.  So, hopefully there might be some replenishing happening soon.
How did you guys do?  Can you share any stories?  Did anyone else score the Holy Grail dress?
xoxoxo
Tierney

PS:  A huge thank you to my mom (who blogs over at Choopie’s Life) for all her help today.  I love you, Mom!  Couldn’t have done it without you!

11 Responses to “Jason Wu for Target: A Mission Complete”

  1. Donna February 5, 2012 at 4:22 pm #

    Wow you are a shopping machine!! I love the little black dress at the top and you look absolutely adorable in that navy holy grail dress!!

  2. Voilà! February 5, 2012 at 5:04 pm #

    Wow! Reading that definitely had me with sweaty palms and white knuckles! Looks like you made out well! Congrats! Thanks for your comment on my blog! Happy to have discovered yours and have followed you!Xoxo~MeghanVoilà-Meghan.blogspot.com

  3. janelle February 5, 2012 at 5:04 pm #

    the poplin dress looks so cute on you!i got a little wu-carried away myself. 🙂

  4. tiny dancer February 5, 2012 at 5:10 pm #

    uggggh! This makes me so sad we don't have Target in Canada – loving the poplin dress too tho! It definitely is the holy grail 🙂 Looks great on you! Darling little blog you have here.Tasiahttp://rufflesandsequins.blogspot.com

  5. Kayteebee276 February 5, 2012 at 7:22 pm #

    the poplin dress looks gorgeous on you! I can't wait to get mine! i was lucky enough to score most of the collection online at 1 am but i'm worried about the fitting. BTW are you in Sterling, VA? You mentioned you lived in a metro area and I live in Alexandria so just wondering! love the blog and thanks for posting such a cute post!

  6. Tierney February 5, 2012 at 7:42 pm #

    Hey Kayteebee, yes, I am in Sterling, VA! Small world huh?! I think the dress fits a little big, but it just begs for a skinny belt so it all evens out! Thanks for reading, girlie! Stay in touch!

  7. The Midwest Muse February 5, 2012 at 11:48 pm #

    So jealous! I want that blue dress so badly, but no way would I ever deal with that kind of drama for clothes!

  8. Buckhead Belle February 6, 2012 at 12:02 pm #

    Love this! Me and my Mom went crazy too! I scored the Holy Grail dress as well, and I am in love!

  9. Lexi February 6, 2012 at 5:01 pm #

    Holy shopping adventure! That's dedication! It drives me nuts that Target's web orders are such a mess during the big line releases – I had the same problem with the Missoni for Target sale. Congrats on all of the amazing finds!♡ LexiFASHION: Glitter & PearlsWEDDINGS: Glitter Weddings

  10. Kate February 6, 2012 at 6:34 pm #

    I ordered the navy HOLY GRAIL dress online and fingers crossed my order doesn't get canceled. I just read about a couple of Miami that bought almost everything. Apparently management told them no, can't do that but headquarters said you can't limit a customer's purchase. BOO! I hope no one buys anything from their ebay sales!

  11. The Fashion Palate February 9, 2012 at 2:35 am #

    Awww Cat Tote, I'm beyond jealous!

Thanks for reading! You're the best!

