Wait…Where Have you Been?!?!?!?!?

9 Jan

Maybe an explanation should have been my lead off entry as opposed to a long rambling about mascara.
Real talk:  I’ve been nowhere.  I had just started a new job, ramped up some cool projects with my church, and really just felt overwhelmed with blogging.
I’m going to be honest with you.  See.  I’m super competitive.  When I do something, I want to do it amazingly, be the best, and basically just throw myself into it.   
I kind of lost the motivation for blogging.  The outfit posts every day.  The stress of having to read a million other blogs a day in order to build up blogging friendships.  I also got tired of feeling this driving need to discover and wear the next big thing, or spend money when I didn’t need to.
I know people might say, “But Tigernaugh, you don’t have to do all that!”  Well, I did.  I honestly just lost interest, and it started to not be fun, but more of a chore.  
But, I was talking to someone the other day about writing (a passion of mine), and they suggested that I should try blogging.  I wanted to be like IF ONLY YOU KNEW, BRO!  But, out of curiosity, I checked it out this morning, and people are still reading this thing.  Granted, it’s all from Google searches about Ruby Woo lipstick (HOLLA!) but still.
I don’t do New Year’s resolutions or whatever, but if I did, my resolution would be to blog and be pressure free.  It’s not about keeping up with the Joneses, but just writing about what you like.  
Which is what I’m going to do.  I’m just going to write, dangit.  
Okay.  So, here’s what you missed last year on RUBY WOO LOVES YOU.
1.  Skit Ministry

For people who are just tuning in, I’m a born again Christian.  I’m not any kind of special denomination, but just a read-the-Bible-and-do-it kinda gal.  I go to a really cool church, and one of the projects that takes up a lot of my time is our new Skit Ministry.  A group of us write and perform plays for the church every few months.  The topics range from Christmas skits to skits about certain virtues to skits about issues that Christians face on a daily basis.  The skits started to be recorded and put on Youtube, and then other churches started asking for the scripts and advice on how to do their own.  (SO COOL!)
Until recently, we always just performed specifically for our little church about issues we all knew and could laugh about.  But, lately, we’ve started to write and produce short little “webisodes” that were aimed towards people who might not know Jesus or what being a Christian means.  I’ve acted a lot on stage throughout my life (which means lots of line memorization), but never with takes and cue cards and short scenes.  It was SUPER fun, and I’ll be sharing a few of them as they get posted.
Goofing around during one of our rehearsals for our Young Adult Talent Show.  We ended up winning Best in Show, which makes the competitive side of me happy.  Real talk:  When they were announcing the winners, I literally had to hide my face because I knew if we lost, I would probably instinctively make a WHAT?!?!? face.

I had a blonde wig for one of our recorded episodes!  Who would have thought I actually looked okay in it?!?

Oh hey Dorothy!
If you’re interested in checking out any of our skits online, here’s a few!
We did a spoof on Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory, only we changed it to be about Willy Wonka and the Prayer Factory.  This one was fun, as I got to be spoiled little Veruca Salt and throw tantrums. 

Fun Facts:  That shirt I’m wearing was supposed to be a dress, but I don’t think they ever realize that I’m almost six feet tall, and most dresses are shirts on me anyway.  I had to run to Target and find white jeans (in the middle of winter) 

Fun Facts:  After the fact, my parents asked me why I was so good at being spoiled, and if they had anything to worry about.
Fun Facts:  I got to play my own mother in this, and it was literally a one take, last minute thing, and my sunglasses broke right before, so I have lopsided sunglasses and look like I just had three cups of Nyquil.
Next is our AWARD WINNING (Woo hoo!) Talent Show Skit.  Our Young Adult group (which is basically life after Youth Group) does a Skit show every year, and this year we’d been assigned to interpret a book we’d been reading called Mr. World and Miss Church Member.  It’s an allegory written around the same time as Pilgrim’s Progress, but not as famous.  Like Pilgrim’s Progress, it was a story about people on the road to heaven, and all their struggles along the way.  Unlike Pilgrim’s Progress, it didn’t have a happy ending.
We had the very last chapters, and had to bring a pretty serious drama game.  I’m sad that the ending didn’t turn out quite like I wanted, at least on film.  If you watch it, the last few minutes are totally black, but in person, we had black lights and strobe lights, and people in white demon masks floating around the stage.  It was very creepy and very cool. 
Fun Facts:  I practiced screaming in my car.  A lot.  People probably thought I was crazy.
Fun Facts:  I loved my outfit for this.  And my fake glasses.  I felt so smart.
Fun Facts:  My lipstick shade is by MAC and it’s called DIVA.
Next is our first webisode, The Wizard of Oz.
It was our first time ever trying to film anything, and with the green screen, it didn’t turn out exactly how we’d pictured, but I still think for a first try, it’s pretty good.  Our green screen was kind of small too, so there were a lot of tight shots which after editing looked a little too choppy.  BUT, I still like it.  And, in later webisodes, you can really see where we learned and improved.
There’s a few other things we’ve filmed on that Youtube channel.  Take some time and click away.  So far, I’ve been a giraffe, Mary from It’s a Wonderful Life, and a few other assorted roles.  (Also, in true GIRL fashion, I hate watching myself because I think I look fat in every video.  Haha.)  🙂
2.  Cancun!

I went to Cancun for the first time with my family right before winter started.  It was a last minute decision, and I’m so glad we booked it!  Our resort was all inclusive and amazing, and I got REALLY tan and ate some of the best food of my life.  (Fresh grilled calamari and scallop fajitas every day!)
Oh, I also got proposed to three times.  AND I got to help release baby sea turtles to the wild!  I named my turtle “Franklin” and he beat all the other babies into the water!
3.  Love is in the Air.
Two of my best friends got married in the past few months, and that equated to lots of wedding fun!
Two of my best friends and I in the limo on the way to my BFF Emily’s wedding.    
We love wedding jumps.  I also love my friend’s face.  Haha.
 Next my friend Katie got married as well.  I LOVED our dresses for this wedding–classic black with sweetheart necklines.  We went to the Nordstrom Bridal Suite to shop for them, and it was the easiest, most beautiful way to shop! 
Fun Fact:  When I was checking out with my dress, I overheard that the plus sized version of this Monique Lhullier dress was $100 cheaper!  So, I ordered a dress that was maybe four sizes too big, and brought it to my tailor, who worked magic for $15 to make it work!  So worth it!
Steph (one of my good friends) blogs on Ruby Woo from time to time!  Our lipstick is so fab!

Black, pearls, and red lipstick!  Winner!
4.  Christmas!
Christmas is one of my favorite times of the year.  I love buying the perfect presents for my family!  And, apparently, my family loves getting the perfect presents for me as well!  
My mommy and I!

Opening baby shoes with my little brother!  Can’t wait for my niece to come!
Some of my favorite gifts included:
Spiked Sam Edelman flats
New Tory Burch Revas!
A GORGEOUS black and gold Michael Kors watch.  This one was funny because I bought my mom the tortoise shell Michael Kors watch.  It’s like Gift of the Magi.
I also got lots of cute dresses and a Kitchenaid Mixer (in shiny black, of course).
And Christmas leads me right into…
6.  Happy New Year!!
Tired of the “What are we doing?!” debates surrounding New Year’s Eve that happen EVER year, we decided to throw a Disney Costume Party.  
I, of course, went as the only Disney character who wears red lipstick:  Snow White.
Snow White, Bo Peep, and Jesse (from Toy Story)

Snow White found Tinkerbell’s wings just lying there.

Kissing a frog.
I might have to devote a whole post to how epic my friends were.  Everyone got really into it.  Our biggest group was the Toy Story group, with all major characters represented.  I think my favorites were the Great Mouse Detectives!  
Yeah…look for a picture heavy post to come.  But, how cute was my costume!  I had the faux bob for awhile, but by the end of the night, my hair set itself free.
Really, it was a great year, and I’m so thankful for where my life is now.
I will leave you with pictures of me and my love for animal ear hats.

2 Responses to “Wait…Where Have you Been?!?!?!?!?”

  1. Chalupa January 10, 2012 at 9:06 am #

    Yay! Your back!!! I'm so excited Ruby Woo is up and running again. I might just go buy some red lipstick to celebrate.

  2. DaniellaBella January 11, 2012 at 10:40 pm #

    Glad that you're back on your own terms! I missed reading your blog!!Looks like you had a busy and exciting few months!

Thanks for reading! You're the best!

