Birds on a Wire–errr–Lampshade

1 May
[Note:  I will be in the amazing Caribbean until May 8.  This coming week, you’ll get to meet a few friends of mine, in addition to being awed (like I was) at this scheduled posting option.  Hopefully it works.  I’ll miss you all!  xoxo Tier]

I was so honored and excited when Ruby Woo asked me to do a guest post this week! 

Hi! I’m Donna. You might remember me from such blogs as Yumma Yumma (all about my food adventures).  In addition to my love for food, I also have a passion for crafts of many different kinds…painting, scrapbooking, and in the last couple years, sewing.

Back in February, I, along with my sister-in-law (who is also crafty and specializes in crochet) decided to open our own Etsy shop called Gray Kitty Boutique.  Our shop is still fairly new and we’re constantly experimenting with new products to sell.


Here’s one project I recently completed for myself.  When I posted the pictures on the Gray Kitty facebook page, I was surprised at how many positive comments I received.


I seriously needed an update in my bedroom (leopard print/black/brown not cutting it anymore).  After I purchased new bedding I began to search out other decorating ideas to pull the whole room together…ideas that didn’t require a lot of time or money. Throughout my searching I kept coming back to the color gray and bird motifs. I had found my inspiration.
lamp from Target for $16.99.  If you add a little fabric and creativity, you can get…
Customized shades!


A couple simple, inexpensive lamps with plain white shades turned into something special and unique. And then a pair of simple matching curtain panels with clever metal shower curtain rings with clips to pull the room together. 
A perfect way to bring new life to my old bedroom! All it needs now is a fresh coat of soft medium gray paint on the walls to replace the brown.

One Response to “Birds on a Wire–errr–Lampshade”

  1. Leah May 2, 2011 at 12:55 pm #

    I love it Donna!! Very nicely done 🙂

Thanks for reading! You're the best!

