polka dots and makeup

26 Apr
You might recognize this little number from my Etsy post last week.  Super vintage–super cute.  It’s totally sheer, so you have to navigate around that (or just be really free with the world), and I wonder if it’s a little too long.  Maybe I can hem it.

I can’t believe I’m not wearing red lipstick–this dress just begs for it, but I’m actually running out, and have been rationing it.  I need to get my butt to the mall and restock a lot of my makeup that I’ve just been doing without.
I ran out of my Make Up Forever HD Foundation and because I was being cheap, I just bought a random bottle from Harris Teeter.
Maybelline’s FIT ME foundation
Due to the amazing weather and impending vacation, I’m slowly getting more tan.  One of my biggest problems is matching my skin tone with foundation–so I figured something like this would work great.
Okay.  So, the claims on the website are:
It’s makeup that fits you.
  • No oils, no waxes, no nonsense
  • Natural coverage that leaves skin the way it was meant to be…fresh, breathing, natural  
  • Exclusive translucent base and lightweight pigments allow skin’s natural highs and lows to show through
  • Non-comedogenic, dermatologist-tested
    Okay.  Those are all good things, but the foundation just feels weird on my skin.  And, I’m running into the same problems I did with my foundation before MUFE–it wears off like halfway through the day, even with a primer on.  
Also, I should have paid attention the claims before I bought it, as I don’t like to show my “Natural Lows” when it comes to my skin.  
But, yes, true to claims, the color does match nicely, but I think I’m going to have to bite the financial bullet and buy the expensive stuff again. 
sigh.
4 Responses to “polka dots and makeup”

  1. Bekah: Matters of Merrymaking April 26, 2011 at 9:46 am #

    I love the vintage vibe and pleats of this dress! As I was walking to Old Navy last night, I passed a Dress Barn in the shopping complex and went in… Cute, bright dresses were the rage, but at 50 bucks they were a little steep.I will be back to stalk the clearance aisle… you bet!

  2. Liz April 26, 2011 at 10:20 am #

    When do you leave? We should meet up and hit sephora or the mall together! I love your vintage dress! I bet it would look amazing just above the knee! 🙂 You could use the additional fabric to make a second layer underneath too!-Liz

  3. Jacqueline April 26, 2011 at 5:26 pm #

    i love love love the dress. the blue is amazing, and with that red ascot tie (!!) it's perfect! i'd say go for trying to hem it. i do it to most of my vintage pieces, and end up getting a lot more wear out of them. (but then again, i'm barely hitting 5'2" so hemming is always a must for me!) Xx

  4. Chalupa April 26, 2011 at 9:06 pm #

    I love the long lines of this dress on your almost 6 foot tall body. I think its elegant at that length and it fits the vintage style. I say leave it long!!

Thanks for reading! You're the best!

