some exciting news!

12 Apr
So, sometimes I tend to repeat stories, so for those of you who I’ve already told this to, just ignore me (or read it again to humor me).
A month or so back, I told you that I was going to Kenya for about three weeks this May.  What I didn’t mention was that my current job decided they couldn’t give me that large of a chunk of unpaid leave, and told me if I went, I would lose my job with them.
This really threw me.  See, I have been to Africa on similar trips three other times, and I had never thought I was going to be going again due to real-life career stuff and money.  But, when they announced the trip this year, I felt this little voice inside me telling me that I needed to go.  My chest got tight, and I couldn’t breathe.   I had this overwhelming sense that I needed to go–that God wanted me to go.  And, I’ve learned in my life that when God tells me to do something, I obey.
But, I assumed that if God wanted me to go, He would work everything out for me.  So, when I was given that ultimatum, it made me a little worried.  Maybe I didn’t hear from God?  Maybe I’m not supposed to go?  See, I got laid off last year, and being unemployed (while living in the real world and having bills and needing health insurance) for months was pretty stressful.  I’ve always been a person who performs well and got hired/picked for everything, so I was dumbfounded when I couldn’t find work.  (In retrospect, I think God was just trying to show me to have a little more faith in His ability to take care of me no matter what.)  So, this current job, when I got hired, was a huge relief/blessing.
Anyway, I talked to my Dad a lot about my decision, and he helped me realize that my decision to go to Africa anyway was a good one.  Like I said earlier, when God speaks, I obey.
So, I let my company know my decision, and I started praying that God would help me find a new job–preferably before I left for Africa.  (Which, that is hard enough–“Oh, hi, yeah, I’d like to work for you, but I can’t start for like two months.  *BIG SMILE*”)
A few days later, my friend Lindsay heard my story, and said that her job might be looking to hire someone.  I sent over my resume, and hoped for the best.  THEN I got called to come in for an interview that same week.  (Yay!)  It turns out, one of the senior managers looked at my resume, and asked Lindsay, “Is this Jim’s (my dad) daughter?”  Turns out she used to work with him like twenty years ago, and remembered me being born.  Small world, huh?  I went through all three interviews, and I felt pretty confident.  (I interview really well–my personality is like THIS BIG.)
Then, no one called me for twelve days.  I had been so excited that God was going to get me this new fabulous job, and then no one called me back.  I started to get a little anxious again–especially since the end date my current company gave me was ticking closer and closer.  But, I just gave it over to God, since the point of all this seemed to be having me have more faith.  
Then, on Friday, Lindsay texted me and asked if they’d called me yet.
“UM, NO!?!?!  WERE THEY SUPPOSED TO??!  WHY DIDN’T THEY?!?!”  ( yes, I’m a hysterical texter at times.)

“I don’t know.  I thought they were going to.  Maybe they will today?  But everyone’s so busy, I don’t know…”

Okay.  I can live with that.  Wait.  No I can’t.  I didn’t want a maybe.  I wanted a yes!

At that minute, my phone started beeping at me.  See, my phone has being giving me grief since I bought it, but the horrible, frustrating, lovely folks at Verizon refused to replace/give me a new phone, I’ve made due until I can renew.  The biggest issue I have is that this darn phone dies randomly.  I can take it off the charger, and literally an hour later, the battery will be completely dead.  (And then other days, the battery lasts all days.  It just is random.)  

So, on the day that I might be finally getting called back for a job offer, my phone is about to die.  I was in the cosmetic aisle at Harris Teeter while all this was going on, and I couldn’t believe my phone was going to ruin everything, so right there in front of the mascara, I prayed.  

“God, either have them email me instead, or just let my phone last until 5 pm.  Thanksloveyou.”

So, my day went on same as normal until I GOT AN EMAIL around 2:30 saying that they were “interested” in offering me the position, but needed to finalize some details.  First, how awesome is that that they emailed me instead of calling me?  But, at the same time, this wasn’t a firm offer, and really, I just wanted to know.  I wanted peace of mind.  So I prayed again.

“Thanks for the email, God, but please please please let them wrap this all up today.  Please let me get it.”

I waited maybe two more hours, and then right before I was leaving work, I got a phone callON MY NOT DEAD PHONE EVEN THOUGH THERE HAD BEEN 5% BATTERY LEFT FOUR HOURS EARLIER.  

Long story short, they offered me the job.  (YAY!)  But, then it gets better.  Not only do I get to do something that really interests me, my commute gets cut down by at least 90 minutes a day.  AND we have flexible hours and great benefits.  AND, the kicker, I got a whopping 63% pay raise from what I’m currently making.   

And finally, after all this drama and back and forth, my phone dies AT FIVE O’CLOCK on the dot after I get my important phone call.



I say all that to say this:  Amazing things can happen when you put your life into God’s hands.  He gave me everything I specifically asked for, plus even more.

My life is amazing. 


xoxo


Tierney

7 Responses to “some exciting news!”

  1. donna from yumma yumma April 12, 2011 at 11:42 am #

    Thats really cool, Tierney! Thats living in the supernatural. I've been trying to learn that myself through my current trial of panic attacks. Its encouraging to hear your testimony and I believe God will truly bless you in the job and in the missions trip because of your trust and faith in Him now.

  2. Stephers April 12, 2011 at 11:55 am #

    Linz was telling us about this the other day at breakfast! I'm so excited for you, and it's so awesome to see how God works!! PLUS, we'll be COMMUTE BUDDIES!!! 🙂 xoxo Continue to shout this from the housetops! God is so good!

  3. Meg (The Red Spoon) April 12, 2011 at 12:32 pm #

    BEST.STORY.EVER.God is so awesome ❤

  4. Nakia April 12, 2011 at 12:52 pm #

    Ok first off Tierney I am glad I stumbled over to your page I needed to read this post. Life has been a little tangled for me these past few months and I’ve been feeling so lost. Thank You for this post it will help push me through my day today! Congrats!xoxo, Vogue & Vintage

  5. Drvmsdsy April 12, 2011 at 1:30 pm #

    PTL!!!!! Sometimes He holds off to work Faith in us!!!! Keep praising Him & He keeps giving you newer reasons to!!!

  6. Chalupa April 12, 2011 at 8:47 pm #

    I cried. And not just a little bit either. God is AMAZING!

  7. Lexi April 14, 2011 at 6:44 pm #

    Sooo many congratulations! You're adorable and totally deserve this!xox LexiGlitter & Pearls

Thanks for reading! You're the best!

