Back to the Beginning

6 Apr
There are some insanely talented, insanely successful fashion bloggers.  Girls who prance around the world, attending parties and shows, while scoring thousands of dollars in loot.  We’re on a first name basis with most of them–RumiJaneKeiko.  The list goes on. 
I’m a writer, and I like to know the whole story about people.  Yes, they are insanely amazing now, and every single picture looks like it was torn from the page of Vogue, but how did they start?
Maybe I’m a nerd, but I’ve been going through these blogs from the beginning.  I think sometimes I get annoyed with some of them–Oh, and here are my Chanel shoes or I just got back from Japan–because those are things that I don’t see as attainable for myself.  (A healthy bit of jealousy as well, I’m sure.)  I’ll never have parents who bestow heaps of designer goods on me (although, they did buy me a car/college/house/my whole life, so they’re pretty amazing and awesome and I shouldn’t complain), but it’s nice to see people who live such a big life.
I started with Keiko Lynn, who I think is just gorgeous and such a nice girl.  
Photo from Keiko Lynn.
That looks like a magazine ad.  
Photo here.
That was from her second post ever.  It’s two completely different aesthetics–when she started out, there were all these street photos and against a blank wall shots that everyone does.  (I’m not knocking it at all; I just think her evolution is really neat.  It kind of gives me hope and inspiration as a blogger myself.)
Jane from Sea of Shoes is another big love/hate relationship of mine.  I think the girl is gorgeous, and puts together some really unique, awesome outfits.  But then, sometimes I’m like, “really?  you wore 17 different patterns and 8 inch heels today to lunch?”  Not as attainable as other bloggers, but she has a very interesting style.
Image here.
This picture is insane.  It’s like Joe Zee was in the room with her, posing her and adding/removing the hat until it was perfect.
But, three years ago, she was just a girl in a pretty vintage dress. 
Photo here.  Circa 2008
There were even posts of her in jeans and sweatshirts.  She was fifteen, and admittedly had an insanely amazing wardrobe, but I like her a lot better after going back and reading those entries.  
Photo credit here.
Fashiontoast is another of those blogs that are almost dream-like.  Rumi’s aesthetic is a lot different than mine, but I definitely appreciate her on a fashionista level.
But three years ago, she had the same type of outfit shots as everyone else.
Photo credit here.
I know a lot of the differences in pictures of all three girls is the quality camera, but each of them seemed to have really grown into their own personal senses of style.  I know we’re all striving to get to their level one day (I definitely will not mind a couture Chanel gown at my next special occasion), so hopefully the little mini success stories today inspired you!
xoxo
Tierney
4 Responses to “Back to the Beginning”

  1. theclassyturtle April 6, 2011 at 4:34 pm #

    thanks for this post. It makes me have hope 🙂

  2. Lacey Maffettone April 6, 2011 at 5:17 pm #

    This post was fantastic, inspirational and really needed! Thank you so much! :)Laceyhttp://alaceyperspective.com

  3. Tieka, Selective Potential April 6, 2011 at 10:06 pm #

    This post was so interesting to read and I loved seeing the older pictures of these bloggers! I hadn't seen a few of them and it's so crazy to see how far they've come! xo

  4. Bekah: Matters of Merrymaking April 7, 2011 at 10:16 pm #

    Hey there, came across your blog from another one…I really love this post, because it speaks volumes to me.Thanks for the inspiration.Oh- and I adore your style. And choice of lipstick.matters of merrymaking

Thanks for reading! You're the best!

