Rant Time.

29 Mar
So, in an attempt to continue my shopping BAN for the next month or so, I have taken to holing myself up in sandwich places with a magazine or a book.  See, I work right between two of the best malls in the world (that’s right, the world.)  On the left, I have Tyson’s Corner Mall aka a monstrosity that houses almost every store you can think of.  On the right, I have Tyson’s Galleria, that is an indoor Fifth Avenue/Rodeo Drive/Opulence Central that is great for window shopping the Chanel bags I will never afford.
It’s hard to work in the midst of all that temptation.
Where was I?  Okay.  Yes.  So, on my Ipad, I have the Zinio app, which for like $8 a year (each), you can subscribe to all your favorite magazines.  (And, the ipad editions are always awesome because they are ANIMATED and sparkle.  Think of opening an editorial, and watching the model move and pose.  Yeah.  That’s it.  It’s like Harry Potter world for the fashionable.)
I’m swiping through Elle, and I see a shirt I like.  It’s your basic, polka dotted shirt.  Nice little blouse–a few ruffles.  Hm.  Maybe when my ban is done, I could buy that.
So, I check out the price.
$950.
FOR.  A.  SHIRT.
At this point, I picked up my ipad and my Fuji Apple Chicken Salad and chucked them both at Nina Garcia’s imaginary head.  (Okay, that’s not true.  My salad is too good to throw.)
But, you get the idea.  For a shirt?!  
The other day, I was reading a story about how Proenza is all upset 
that Target released a bag similar to their own.


Which one is the naughty bag in question?  Target’s bag, the second, retails for $34.99.  The first bag by Proenza Schouler is $1995.  
I feel so torn about this.  On one hand, as a writer, I totally understand how precious one’s creative endeavors are.  But…charging someone $2k for a bag to schlep your crap around in is a little ridiculous.  I mean, is no one else in the world allowed now to release gray satchels with gold hardware?  Is that concept Proenza Schouler’s forever and ever?  I’m sorry, but I don’t have, and (sadly) will never have $2k to drop on a gray handbag.  Does that mean I don’t deserve that bag in any capacity at all?
When is enough…enough?  When do designers cross the line between charging for quality/brand and ripping us off?  Don’t get me wrong–if I had the money, I would have Birkins in every single color imaginable.  But, I also don’t believe that no one should ever carry a top-handled, envelope flapped bag ever again. 
Am I making sense here?  There’s a verse in Eccelsiastes that says “There is nothing new under the sun”.  Everything’s been done before.  We cycle fashion back through the decades–we are wearing clothes our parents wore in the 1970’s.  Should the inventor of bell-bottoms get upset because all the high-brow designers are releasing similar, high waisted flared pants?  When does it end?  Where are the boundaries?
I had to shut that virtual issue of Elle, sit back, and think about fashion magazines in general.  How many readers flip through Vogue, see a $15k necklace, and decide to go out and buy it?  Why aren’t there more magazines with low price points?  Am I justified in feeling upset at all?  What do you guys think?
/end serious post
2 Responses to “Rant Time.”

  1. Stephers March 29, 2011 at 2:40 pm #

    Yes,FRIEND!! I feel your pain! #1. I almost bought that purse from Target. #2 I just put down the latest issue of Lucky, and I did not feel lucky to have read it. All the pieces that I was drawn to were WAY out of my budget and would put me in debt for the rest of my life. Fashion magazines can depress me sometimes and because of it the only magazines I buy are cooking magazines. . .cuz at least I can use those time and time again. And plus. . .I always need lessons in contentment. Let's start our own magazine. 🙂 xoxoxo

  2. elizabeth s. March 29, 2011 at 11:13 pm #

    Love the bag! That is a huge price difference! Way to get the steal girl.xxe.

Thanks for reading! You're the best!

