Your biggest accessory.

28 Feb
So, if you know me well, you’d be all “Yo, Tigernach, your biggest accessory HAS to be your shoes, since you have gigantic size 11 feet.”  Well, yes, that’s partly true, but lately I’ve become more fixated on my skin.  Since it covers, like, your entire body, it better be amazing or else that will be the first thing people notice, right?
I’ve always had okay skin.  I mean, I don’t have rampant acne like those poor kids on the Proactiv commercials.  But, I break out randomly and enough to where it gets annoying.  GOSH DARN ANNOYING.  I’ve tried everything (and its mother) and nothing worked until the day I discovered Murad.  So, today I’m going to talk about my own personal skin care regimen.
Cleanser:
Clarifying Cleanser, $26. 
Toner:
Clarifying Toner, $22
Exfoliating Treatment, $54
Skin Perfecting Lotion, $33
Spot treatment, $18
Clarifying Mask, $37
So, I know that’s a lot of products, and more money than just going to CVS.  But, seriously, this line works great for me.  I used to get that really painful cyst type acne–and while it would only be one or two spots, it would just keep coming back again and again.  The clarifying mask is pretty amazing–it dries bad areas up like that.  I use it more as a spot treatment than an all over thing.  The toner is really nice too.  I will say that at times, the exfoliating gel can be a little irritating–like it stings for a minute after you put it on, but it works well enough to where I don’t care.  
I also started getting the official Murad facials at Massage Envy Spa locations.  They use fancypants products that have helped my skin a lot as well.  (Plus, you get a little mini-massage while your masks set, which is SO NICE as I’m pretty much a cat when it comes to my love for being pet.)
Right now, my biggest concern has been fading the acne scars that I have left over from being obsessive and picking at my face.  Murad does have products to fix this–
Post-Acne Spot Lightening Gel, $60
The only problem with this is that when you use it, you have to stay out the sun completely (otherwise it makes the problem worse).  Now don’t yell at me, but I’ve been tanning twice a week to prepare for my amazing Caribbean vacation coming up in May.  I don’t burn, and I have a really really hard time developing color.  (But, once I get tan, I can get super dark if I work at it.)  The tanning bed does wonders for my mood, and it helps keep my skin clear and I find I don’t get sick as often when I’m on it.  I know people are all OMG THAT IS SO BAD FOR YOU, but honestly, I’m not obsessive about it. 
I’m rambling.  I forgot what I was saying.  
Anyway, I have an appointment with my dermatologist tomorrow for my annual skin cancer screening (so important if you do tan!) and I’m going to ask what else I can do for my poor scars.
Other things I use sporadically:
Murad Skin Perfecting Primer.  I’m ambivalent about this.  I didn’t hate it, but I didn’t love it like I love my Smashbox Primer.
Mint Julep Mask.  This is like $4, and it works pretty much amazingly.
Mary Kay Microdermabrasion Kit.  $55  I use this maybe twice a week–it makes your skin super smooth!
What works for you guys?  Anything you think I should try?  I noticed I’m starting to get little tiny wrinkles under my eyes, and I should probably invest in some eye cream.
xoxo
Tierney
2 Responses to “Your biggest accessory.”

  1. Donna from Yumma Yumma February 28, 2011 at 11:12 pm #

    I really like Burt's Bees products. Theres this royal jelly cleanser that makes my skin feel super soft like a baby! And Burts Bees products are organic and animal friendly!

  2. Lexi February 28, 2011 at 11:26 pm #

    love love love Olay Regenerist products. They all smell yummy and my friends dermatologist dad swears it's the best for being proactive with your skin.xoxLexi @ http://glitterandpearls.com

Thanks for reading! You're the best!

