Ruby Woo Helps You!

3 Feb
One of my dear friends asked me for help buying a bathing suit for an upcoming cruise.  She recently lost 50 pounds (YAY!), and writes:
“You’re my local fashionista! Where should I begin to look– I need to strike a balance between “looking hot for my hubby” and “I am someone’s wife and mom.” Any thoughts?”

She also mentioned that she wanted a two piece to celebrate her new weight loss.  I have more than thoughts for you, my dear.  I have options!  

American Living® Dot Retro Suit.  $29.99 and $29.99
Obviously, I love the polka dots, and it provides just enough coverage while still being hot!
Bisou Bisou Twist Tankini.  $24.99 and $24.99
Ruching is so flattering and evokes the right touch of retro!
Twist Tankini from Victoria’s Secret.  $87 and $72
What I love about this is the super flattering bottom plus the ability to mix and match from different patterns.  There was a leopard print that I loved too!

Freya Underwire Halter Bikini Top & Bottoms $68 and $48.

Again, you’ve got the flattering bottom with the cute, retro feel.  Also, I just realized I keep gravitating towards polka dots.  Okay.  Need to break away.

Jersey Lomellina suit from J Crew $58 and $56.
These suits from J Crew are made from such a beautiful Italian jersey.
Carmen Marc Valvo Retro One Piece.  $167.
This is one of my favorite swim suits of all time.  It’s conservative without being dowdy.  And I LOVE the ruching and the retro, pin up girl feeling.  While this isn’t a two piece like she asked, I think it’s gorgeous enough to make the list.

What do you guys think?  I think the key for remaining modest while still being stylish is in the silhouettes and cuts of suits.  No cheeky bottoms, no sexy cut outs.  Think about the ladies back in the 1950’s–they wore one-pieces that covered everything, but were still beautiful!  

I tend to want to spend a little more on swimsuits because:  1.)  It’s the least amount of clothing you can wear in public, so it better look good, and 2.) if it’s well made, it fits better.  Period.

Another swimsuit tip is to go to a store that does lots of mix and match separates. (Target, Old Navy, Victoria Secret.)  That way, you can get an awesome bottom piece (which, face it, is the most important part), and then get a few different tops to change the look and feel.  Eat too much at the dinner buffet?  Wear your tankini top tomorrow!  Or, did you take a long hike on the beach and feel great?  Rock that bikini top.

At the end of the day, the most important thing a girl needs with her swim suit is CONFIDENCE.  

xoxoxo

Tierney

PS.  Have a style dilemma for Ruby Woo?  Let me help!  Leave a comment with your question, and I will do my absolute best to find you the most amazing answer!
3 Responses to “Ruby Woo Helps You!”

  1. Donna from Yumma Yumma February 3, 2011 at 10:58 pm #

    Thanks for this post. It was really helpful. Aside from jeans, bathing suits are the most-hated thing for me to shop for. Since I'm kinda short and very curvy, I can never find the right one that looks flattering and sexy but still modest. I'm hoping to lose a few pounds before summer and when I do, my reward is a new bathing suit. (Its been several years.)That one piece red suit…I love it!I love the retro look to it and it looks sexy but also slimming!

  2. nesha February 4, 2011 at 5:11 am #

    This is a really thoughtful post Tierney! I'm going away with my boyfriend a lot this summer, and I want a bikini that looks sexy but not skimpy. Ah, the bikini troubles we girlies have even when summer is half a year away.Nesha x

  3. joelle February 4, 2011 at 11:08 am #

    Tier, I LOVE that last suit!!!! The color and shape would be flattering on anyone! Definitly something to save up for!! thanks for posting!

Thanks for reading! You're the best!

