White Death Falling from the Skies.

28 Jan
Maybe I’m being a little dramatic…
But seriously, I like to think that I take after my mother’s side of the family when it comes to matters of the weather.  They’re all Italian (New Jersey Italians–the best kind!  OG Jersey Shore!  Haha.), and I fully believe that all the Mediterranean pumping through my blood causes me to be fully allergic to cold, snow, winter, ice, cold, and snow.  
The sidewalk in front of my house.

I would like to take this moment to give an old-school, radio DJ shout to to my BFF Emily.  
Whenever there is a horrible winter storm, Emily comes and saves me from being trapped inside my house being cold, sad, and lonely.  She commandeers her mom’s four-wheel-drive, and all the snow in the world can’t stop us from still having a fun day.  I was able to score her a job working at my company, so we pretty much spend all day together.  When the storm hit DC/NoVa on Wednesday, I was driving a little rental and was worried about getting home okay.  Emily followed behind me in her big truck to make sure no one got too close or that I slid off the road and died.  (On a sort-of-related note, did any of you guys hear/read about the DC-area traffic in that snowstorm?!  I heard it took people five hours to go about ten miles.  (One friend left work at 4 pm, and by 8 pm, she was barely halfway home!)  Thank God we got out just in time to miss all that crazy traffic.)
Anyway, yesterday my neighborhood was slacking on the plowing, and there was zero way for me to get to work.  Em came over to give me a ride, but even she ended up sliding and getting stuck.  Honestly, work isn’t that important when you’re slipping around on solid ice roads, so we called out and spent the day watching movies (Mean Girls 2 anyone?), drinking Starbucks, and finally when the roads got a little better, eating the best sushi of my life.  (No, seriously, go to Passionfish in Reston Town Center if you ever want the best food of your life.)
So, Emily, my dear, this is for you.  Thanks for being a great friend and keeping me sane while white death rained down from the heavens.
Xoxo,
Tierney
2 Responses to “White Death Falling from the Skies.”

  1. Chalupa January 28, 2011 at 10:23 am #

    Your Mom grew up spending summers at the Jersey Shore (Seaside Heights) with all the Italian cousins. Days on the beach covered in baby oil with iodine, nights on the boardwalk eating junk food and laughing 24/7 was our reality show.

  2. eaeells January 28, 2011 at 10:28 am #

    Wow! a whole blog post to myself ^-^ Thats sweet!! Love you Tier.

Thanks for reading! You're the best!

