Nothing Like a Little Nautical Dress for Your Birthday!

13 Jan

Hi dolls.  So, some of you will know that my birthday is coming up in ten days.  (The big 2-4!  Dang!)  I love birthday months (not just for cake and parties and presents), but for all the sweet coupons my favorite stores send me.  One of the better ones this month was from Delias.  I used to be obsessed with this former catalog only store when I was in my teens, and I admit I haven’t set foot in the store in years.  But, when I saw a “Take $20 off your purchase” coupon in my mailbox, I decided to check it out.

I ended up getting two amazing nautical-inspired pieces for thirty dollars total!  I’m beyond obsessed with both of them, and can’t wait to show you pictures of how I wear them in real life.  For now, take a gander at how I know I will wear them!

I will wear this dress to death.  It has three of my favorite things in life–polka dots, red/navy/white, and an empire waist.  I’ll add red tights to wear it during these FRIGID months I am enduring, and then throw it over a swimsuit in the glorious summer.

I also got this sweet navy captain-ish sweatshirt that looks like a jacket.  It’s soooo comfortable, and the sleeves are really long.  (Which is great for a 5’11 girl like me.)  Some skinny jeans and red wedges will make it absolutely perfect.  I’ll also probably pair this with white pants when it gets a little warmer.

And, of course, Ruby Woo lipstick will go perfectly with both outfits.  I’m not sure why I’m so obsessed with nautical themed clothing–maybe in my former life, I was a hearty sea captain!  (Of course, my pirate ship name would be TYRANNY OF THE SEAS.  Get it?  Get it!?)   My dad was a graduate of the Naval Academy, and the pictures of him in his captain suit are so awesome.  I see a lot of old navy uniforms when I go vintage shopping–I’ve always wanted to buy one.  Maybe that will be my next quest.

Until next time, you scurvy sea dogs,

Tierney xoxoxoxoxoxooxox

6 Responses to “Nothing Like a Little Nautical Dress for Your Birthday!”

  1. Stephers January 13, 2011 at 12:57 pm #

    Yaye for Delias!! Confession: I still shop there. ;D

  2. toni - ssssht.com January 13, 2011 at 1:23 pm #

    hey dear,thanks for your nice comment.can you write me an email so we can discuss all the details regarding the guest post? would be great 🙂

  3. Giselle January 13, 2011 at 2:07 pm #

    Great sets. I think the nautical look is so classic, and that's why we love it so. Stripes, rope detail, blue and reds, will always have a nautical look in my wardrobe. ~Gisellehttp://www.machinewashwarm.blogspot.com

  4. Grace January 13, 2011 at 3:58 pm #

    Love these looks. My favorite are those $20 navy blue dollhouse sandals! Adore.xxGracestripesandsequins.com

  5. Notes from a Stylist January 14, 2011 at 2:51 pm #

    i love that nautical thing – i get suckered into it every season – one day i'll get it right!xsaraloblerdelaney.co.uk/blog

  6. loveandpeaceF January 14, 2011 at 6:16 pm #

    Great outfits!! I love the nautical look and your picks are perfect :)- http://www.itsanewkate.blogspot.com

Thanks for reading! You're the best!

