Make Up for Ever HD Invisible Cover Foundation Review

13 Jan
I have a love/hate relationship with my skin.  I’m thankful I never had to go through the horror that is acne, but like any other girl, I still break out from time to time.  It’s never too bad, but annoying enough where I obsess about trying to cover it perfectly.  
If you’ve been following along with this blog, you’ll know I’m a big MAC fanatic.
I’ve been using Studio Fix Fluid for years and years (NW20 baby!).  Lately though, I’d become a little dissatisfied with it.  I felt like by the time I got home from work, my foundation had begun to wear off–revealing whatever imperfection was plaguing my skin that week.  I eventually added the Studio Fix Powder Plus on top to see if that helped, and I was happy enough for awhile.
I wanted more though.  I still felt like my makeup was wearing off–sometimes even by lunch time.  I don’t touch my face excessively, and due to my amazing skin care regimen (look out for a post about that!) I wasn’t as oily as I used to be.  I did notice that I broke out sporadically as well, and I read some reviews that some people develop “MACne” from the foundation.  Maybe that was me and I didn’t even realize it!
So, feeling guilty about cheating on MAC, I slunk into Sephora one day and asked for help.  I picked the lady who had red lipstick on (duh), and she directed me to Make Up Forever’s line.
I read reviews on Sephora , and figured it was worth a shot.  My family takes a ton of pictures, and I knew I would start to get photographed more with this blog.  It promises to make your skin look better in photographs and film, and if it’s good enough for Hollywood, it’s good enough for me.
I got a small sample of the foundation, and then I figured I should try a few primers as well.  Everything I read suggested that foundation lasts much longer with a good primer.  (Note to you people who think I am being too hard on MAC–I was using a primer with that foundation as well.)  So, I got few samples of Smashbox Photo Finish primer as well as their Pore and Line primer.  Then I went home to redo my makeup.
The Smashbox Photo Primer goes on really light.  (I apply it with a smaller contour blush brush.)  I could barely feel it.  The Pore and Line primer is MUCH thicker, but it made the more rough areas of my skin super smooth. (I literally felt like I had just gotten a facial.)  
As for the foundation, it also went on pretty light.  I used a fair amount, and it covered well. 
My skin with Make Up For Ever.  It looks really smooth, and there is zero shine.  That’s my gorgeous friend Carly, btw.
With MAC Studio Fix.  I probably applied it three hours before this, and I was already super shiny.

 So, what’s my official take?  I’m going to stick with Make Up For Ever for now.  I’ve only been using it about a week and a half, and so far, so good.  But, if I start to break out more than normal, it’s going right back to Sephora, and I will try something else.
So…sorry MAC.  You are still my number one boo!
xoxo
Tierney
3 Responses to “Make Up for Ever HD Invisible Cover Foundation Review”

  1. Froso M. January 13, 2011 at 2:29 pm #

    That was such a nice review, it happens to me too: I use a product for years and suddenly it simply isn't working. Mac is my No1 too, though!

  2. ahassa January 13, 2011 at 4:02 pm #

    nice blog 😉

  3. fashion Rx January 14, 2011 at 6:16 pm #

    ooohhh I hope it works for you!! I've been using Jane Iredale's tinted moisterizer for years but wanted more coverage… my gf suggested Makeup Forever HD, she's a makeup artist in LA, LOVE IT!!! Have you tried the lines Duo Mat?? It sets it perfectly with the kabuki brush (which comes in a cute black traveling pouch:)

Thanks for reading! You're the best!

