Yay Vintage!

10 Jan

I have some pretty awesome parents. I know that once you hit a certain age, you’re supposed to be cool and independent, but I am so not that girl. Some of my most fun days are spent with my parents.

My dad loves antiquing. At their house, there is an entire room downstairs that looks like a museum. It’s pretty awesome. I used to think antiquing was pretty boring (old stuff ewww smelly!) until one day I actually went with them.

Then I discovered something magical. Antique shows have massive quantities of gorgeous jewelry, vintage clothes, and plush furs. Yes, the really nice stuff can get a little pricey, but it’s a fraction of what it would be worth normally.

We spent the day Saturday sifting through two entire warehouses of booths. I drooled all over a table that had Kenneth Jay Lane jewelry for 80% (unfortunately, $200 for a red coral cuff was still too too much for me!), and I tried on at least ten vintage fur coats. (Mmmmm mink!)

I didn’t get anything big this time–I’m still on the lookout for the perfect fur coat. (Yeah, yeah, PETA, throw paint on me and I will kick you in the teeth!) I was able to score a brown faux fur hip length coat (looks like beaver, maybe) that makes me look like a mafia wife. (Or a football linebacker–it has some serious shoulders.)

I can’t wait to show you guys. How about you? Any good antique finds out there? I think my best was a Cartier ring for like $60. I also got a HUGE wooden frame from the 60’s that has leopard spotted wood!

I will post pictures of all my treasures soon!

xoxo
Tier

2 Responses to “Yay Vintage!”

  1. Giselle January 10, 2011 at 3:10 pm #

    Can't wait to see all the vintage finds! ;)~Gisellehttp://www.machinewashwarm.blogspot.com

  2. Cafe Fashionista January 10, 2011 at 6:16 pm #

    Given the fact that I have never before been vintage shopping, I am DYING to see the pictures of your fabulous finds!! 🙂

Thanks for reading! You're the best!

